Artificial intelligence (AI) in Key Stage 3 computing
National Centre for Computing Education
- Delivery
- Online, self-paced
- Cost
- Free
- Level
- Beginner (our rating)
- For
- Teachers and educators
- Duration
- About 3 hours
- Certificate
- Not stated
Start any time
University of Edinburgh
Using GenAI with Confidence for University & College Professional Services Staff is a paid course from University of Edinburgh, online. It costs £150. It takes about 5 hours.
University of Edinburgh doesn't say whether there is a certificate. We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.
Suits administrators, student support, HR, finance and library staff in universities and colleges who want practical generative AI habits for routine work. What stands out is the sector-specific case studies. The main caveat is the £150 fee for about five hours, when free general courses cover similar prompting skills. A free alternative is Work smarter with AI from Microsoft Learn.
Checked against University of Edinburgh on 26 Oct 2026
Go to course on shortcourses.ed.ac.ukWe're independent. Providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.
Self-paced online course from the University of Edinburgh's Bayes Centre for professional services staff in universities and colleges. About five hours of material covers brainstorming and drafting with generative AI, Excel formulas, tone and inclusive language, prompt writing and pitfalls such as hallucinations and bias, using University of Edinburgh case studies.
More courses on generative AI and on prompt engineering.
Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.
Not stated by provider.
£150. £150.00; 20% introductory discount if booked before the end of October 2026.
Certificate: not stated by provider.
University of Edinburgh is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 26 Oct 2026.
The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.
If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.
None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.
Other UK courses on generative AI: An Introduction to AI (North East Scotland College), AI Academy – Hands On AI Masterclass (NI Chamber), Prompt engineering in AI tools (Wise Owl).
See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for teachers and educators.
£150.
About 5 hours, self-paced.
It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). The provider does not list prerequisites.
Start any time.
Some are. Responsible AI Innovation for SMEs is free or free to learn; the rest are paid.
National Centre for Computing Education
Start any time
OpenAI · Coursera
Start any time
Microsoft Learn
Start any time
| Course | Delivery | Cost | Level | Hours | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google Workspace with Gemini: Foundations of Your AI WorkflowGoogle | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Under 1 | Badge |
| Introduction to Generative AIGoogle | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Under 1 | Free badge |
| Generative AI for ExecutivesAWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Under 1 | Certificate not stated |
| Introduction to Generative AI - Art of the PossibleAWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 1 | Certificate not stated |
Free alternative: AI Boost Bootcamp: How to Use Gemini at Work 101 from Google, badge.
We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.