AI Course Check

IAPP

AIGP certification: what it costs and who can take it

AIGP (Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional) costs $799 (non member); $649 (member), has 100 questions and is valid for 2 years. Who can take it: no requirement listed.

Price as shown
$799 (non member); $649 (member)
Valid for
2 years
Format
Exam

Should you take it?

  • Suits privacy, legal and compliance people who govern AI and need to show how laws, standards and frameworks apply to it.
  • Not for engineers after a technical credential: the four domains cover governing AI development, deployment and use rather than building it.
  • The catch: non-members pay 799.00 USD, and keeping it means 20 continuing education credits each term plus a $250 fee at recertification.

Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional (AIGP): the facts

Issuer
IAPP
Program
IAPP certification
Type
Exam
Proctoring
Not stated by IAPP
Status
Active
Who can take it
No requirement listed
Prerequisites
Not stated by IAPP
Price as shown
$799 (non member); $649 (member)
Delivery
In IAPP's words

Exam can be taken either virtually from your home or office, or in-person at a test center. IAPP’s computer-based exams are administered through Pearson VUE testing centers at locations throughout the world.

Questions
100
Passing score
300 or above on a scale of 100 to 500
Valid for
2 years
Renewal
In IAPP's words

Certification holders must fulfill the two minimum requirements to maintain their certification: (1) submit evidence of 20 continuing education credits that correspond to the content in the AIGP BoK and (2) pay a certification maintenance fee for their term. For members, this fee is covered as part of their membership benefits. For non-members, the initial CMF is included in their exam fee and then a $250 CMF fee is required upon recertification.

Go to IAPP's exam page

Checked against IAPP on Oct 25, 2026. IAPP doesn't publish the exam code, length or languages.

What does the Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional (AIGP) exam cover?

The domains and weights in IAPP's exam guide, in its own words. Checked against the guide on October 20, 2026. Exam guide
DomainShare of the exam
Understanding the foundations of AI governanceNot stated
Understanding how laws, standards and frameworks apply to AINot stated
Understanding how to govern AI developmentNot stated
Understanding how to govern AI deployment and useNot stated

Questions people ask

How much does AIGP cost?

IAPP shows $799 (non member); $649 (member). Prices are as the issuer shows them, never converted.

How long is AIGP valid?

2 years, according to IAPP.

What is the passing score for AIGP?

300 or above on a scale of 100 to 500, on an exam of 100 questions. IAPP doesn't publish a pass rate.

Sources

  1. IAPP: Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional (AIGP), assets.contentstack.io, accessed Oct 25, 2026
  2. IAPP: assets.contentstack.io, IAPP Certification Handbook, accessed Oct 25, 2026
  3. IAPP: iapp.org, aigp, accessed Oct 25, 2026
  4. IAPP: store.iapp.org, aigp exam, accessed Oct 25, 2026
  5. IAPP: store.iapp.org, certification maintenance fee, accessed Oct 25, 2026
Go to IAPP's exam page