AI governance certifications: IAPP AIGP and ISACA
Start with IAPP's AIGP if you want an AI governance certification and hold no ISACA credential. ISACA's AI audit and AI risk exams need one first, such as CISA for AAIA.
- AIGP price
- $799 (non member); $649 (member)
- AIGP valid for
- 2 years
Which AI governance certifications are there?
Lowest stated price in this group: $599 (ISACA Advanced in AI Audit (AAIA) and ISACA Advanced in AI Risk (AAIR)) (computed from the standard or non-member US prices below).
Every live certification we track in this group, with each fact as its issuer states it. Cost to certify is computed by us: the one-off exam fee plus the issuer's own prep courses, only when each price is stated (how it is worked out). Never converted.
| Certification | Issuer | Type | Price as shown | Valid for | Who can take it | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional (AIGP) | IAPP | Exam | $799 (non member); $649 (member) | 2 years | No requirement listed | Active |
| ISACA Advanced in AI Audit (AAIA) | ISACA | ExamOnline proctoring offered | $599 (non member); $459 (member) | Not stated by ISACA | Needs another credential | Active |
| ISACA Advanced in AI Risk (AAIR) | ISACA | ExamOnline proctoring offered | $599 (non member); $459 (member) | Not stated by ISACA | Needs another credential | Active |
Which AI governance certification should you take?
- You work in privacy, legal or compliance: IAPP AIGP. It costs $799 (non member); $649 (member) and lasts 2 years; to keep it, you earn 20 continuing education credits and pay a maintenance fee.
- You audit and hold CISA: ISACA AAIA, which needs an active CISA or another designation on ISACA's list. It costs $599 (non member); $459 (member).
- You manage AI risk: ISACA AAIR, which needs a designation from the same ISACA list. It costs $599 (non member); $459 (member).
The catch: ISACA doesn't say how long its AI certifications stay valid, and both issuers charge members less, so the lower price only applies if you pay for membership.
Questions people ask
Sources
- IAPP: Artificial Intelligence Governance Professional (AIGP), assets.contentstack.io, accessed Oct 25, 2026
- IAPP: assets.contentstack.io, IAPP Certification Handbook, accessed Oct 25, 2026
- IAPP: iapp.org, aigp, accessed Oct 25, 2026
- IAPP: store.iapp.org, aigp exam, accessed Oct 25, 2026
- IAPP: store.iapp.org, certification maintenance fee, accessed Oct 25, 2026
- ISACA: ISACA Advanced in AI Audit (AAIA), isaca.org, accessed Oct 20, 2026
- ISACA: ISACA Advanced in AI Risk (AAIR), isaca.org, accessed Oct 20, 2026