AI security certifications from ISACA, CompTIA and GIAC
If you work in security, CompTIA SecAI+ is the AI security certification with no required credential. ISACA's AAISM needs CISM or CISSP first; GIAC's exams suit hands-on testers.
AI security certifications from ISACA, CompTIA and GIAC compared
Lowest stated price in this group: free (AWS Securing Agent Identities Demonstrated) (computed from the standard or non-member US prices below).
Every live certification we track in this group, with each fact as its issuer states it. Cost to certify is computed by us: the one-off exam fee plus the issuer's own prep courses, only when each price is stated (how it is worked out). Never converted.
| Certification | Issuer | Level | Type | Price as shown | Valid for | Who can take it | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft Certified: Cloud and AI Security Engineer Associate (SC-500) | Microsoft | Associate | ExamProctored | $165 | 1 year | No requirement listed | Active |
| GIAC Offensive AI Analyst (GOAA) | GIAC | Not stated | ExamProctored online or at a test center | $999 plus tax; $899 plus tax (retake) | 4 years | No requirement listed | Active |
| GIAC AI Platform Security (GAIPS) | GIAC | Not stated | ExamProctored online or at a test center | $999 plus tax; $899 plus tax (retake) | 4 years | No requirement listed | Active |
| CompTIA SecAI+ (CY0-001) | CompTIA | Not stated | Exam | $298 | Not stated by CompTIA | No requirement listed | Active |
| AWS Securing Agent Identities Demonstrated | Amazon Web Services | Not stated | Microcredential | Free | 1 year | Check the issuer's page | Active |
| ISACA Advanced in AI Security Management (AAISM) | ISACA | Not stated | ExamOnline proctoring offered | $599 (non member); $459 (member) | Not stated by ISACA | Needs another credential | Active |
| GIAC AI Penetration Tester | GIAC | Not stated | ExamProctored online or at a test center | Not stated by GIAC | 4 years | No requirement listed | AnnouncedFrom February 9, 2027 |
Should you take it?
| |||||||
Which AI security certification should you take?
- You work in a security team: CompTIA SecAI+ (CY0-001). CompTIA recommends 3 to 4 years in IT and 2 or more in hands-on cybersecurity, but doesn't require a credential. The exam has up to 60 questions in 60 minutes.
- You manage security and hold CISM or CISSP: ISACA AAISM, which needs an active CISM or CISSP. It costs $599 (non member); $459 (member).
- You attack or test AI systems: GIAC Offensive AI Analyst (GOAA), 56 questions in 120 minutes. GIAC AI Penetration Tester is announced and only sold with a GIAC course.
- You secure AI platforms: GIAC AI Platform Security (GAIPS), 54 questions in 120 minutes.
- You build agents on AWS: AWS Securing Agent Identities Demonstrated, a free hands-on lab assessment.
The catch: CompTIA and GIAC don't show their exam prices on the pages listed below, so check the issuer's page before you budget.
What has changed?
CompTIA SecAI+ (CY0-001)
· Launched
CompTIA launched the SecAI+ exam (CY0-001) on February 17, 2026.
"Launch date: February 17, 2026" CompTIA
Sources
- Microsoft: Microsoft Certified: Cloud and AI Security Engineer Associate (SC-500), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 24, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, SC-500 study guide, accessed Oct 24, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AB-730 study guide, accessed Oct 24, 2026
- GIAC: GIAC Offensive AI Analyst (GOAA), giac.org, accessed Oct 24, 2026
- GIAC: AI security certifications from ISACA, CompTIA and GIAC, giac.org, accessed Oct 24, 2026
- GIAC: AI security certifications from ISACA, CompTIA and GIAC, giac.org, accessed Oct 24, 2026
- GIAC: AI security certifications from ISACA, CompTIA and GIAC, giac.org, accessed Oct 24, 2026
- GIAC: GIAC AI Platform Security (GAIPS), giac.org, accessed Oct 24, 2026
- CompTIA: CompTIA SecAI+ (CY0-001), comptia.org, accessed Oct 25, 2026
- Amazon Web Services: AWS Securing Agent Identities Demonstrated, aws.amazon.com, accessed Oct 24, 2026
- Amazon Web Services: skillbuilder.aws, 9ZRC3U51YT, accessed Oct 24, 2026
- Amazon Web Services: aws.amazon.com, faqs, accessed Oct 24, 2026
- ISACA: ISACA Advanced in AI Security Management (AAISM), isaca.org, accessed Oct 25, 2026
- ISACA: isaca.org, aaism, accessed Oct 25, 2026
- GIAC: GIAC AI Penetration Tester, giac.org, accessed Oct 24, 2026