AI Course Check

GIAC

GIAC GOAA certification: what it costs and who can take it

GOAA (GIAC Offensive AI Analyst) costs $999 plus tax; $899 plus tax (retake), has 56 questions in 120 minutes and is valid for 4 years. Who can take it: no requirement listed.

Price as shown
$999 plus tax; $899 plus tax (retake)
Valid for
4 years
Format
Exam, proctored online or at a test center

Before you book GIAC Offensive AI Analyst (GOAA)

Status
Active as of Oct 26, 2026.
GIAC's prep
None listed here
Renewal
Collect 36 CPEs or retake the exam, then pay the renewal fee: Certification Renewal $499 (USD, excluding applicable sales tax). Additional renewals within 2 years of a full-price ($499) renewal are $249.

Should you take it?

  • Suits red teamers and penetration testers who want to show they can use AI for phishing, malware and deepfakes.
  • Not for defenders whose job is securing AI systems, since the exam is about attacking with AI.
  • The catch: GIAC lists ten objectives without weights, from deepfakes to web exploitation, so you can't tell where to focus revision.
  • GIAC AI Platform Security fits better if you defend AI systems: 54 questions on areas such as agentic systems and MLOps security.

Who can take GOAA?

GIAC lists who can take it.

In GIAC's words

SOC & incident response analysts; Red team & penetration testers; National security & law enforcement analysts; Security consultants & risk managers; Security Engineers and Architects; Security managers; AI and machine-learning enthusiasts

GIAC Offensive AI Analyst (GOAA): the facts

Issuer
GIAC
Program
GIAC Certifications
Type
Exam
Proctoring
Proctored online or at a test center
Status
Active
Who can take it
No requirement listed
In GIAC's words

SOC & incident response analysts; Red team & penetration testers; National security & law enforcement analysts; Security consultants & risk managers; Security Engineers and Architects; Security managers; AI and machine-learning enthusiasts

Price as shown
$999 plus tax; $899 plus tax (retake)
Delivery
All GIAC Certification exams are web-based and required to be proctored. There are two proctoring options: remote proctoring through ProctorU, and onsite proctoring through PearsonVUE.
Length
120 minutes
Questions
56
Passing score
67%
Valid for
4 years
Renewal
In GIAC's words

Collect 36 CPEs or retake the exam, then pay the renewal fee: Certification Renewal $499 (USD, excluding applicable sales tax). Additional renewals within 2 years of a full-price ($499) renewal are $249.

Go to GIAC's exam page

Checked against GIAC on Oct 26, 2026. GIAC doesn't publish the exam code, prerequisites or languages.

What does the GIAC Offensive AI Analyst (GOAA) exam cover?

The domains and weights in GIAC's exam guide, in its own words. Checked against the guide on October 26, 2026. Exam guide
DomainShare of the exam
Artificial Intelligence FundamentalsNot stated
Audio, Image, and Video DeepfakesNot stated
Bypassing Defensive ControlsNot stated
Creating Malicious Software with AINot stated
Creating Phishing Emails with AINot stated
Malware FundamentalsNot stated
Network Scanning and Vulnerability DetectionNot stated
Social Engineering FundamentalsNot stated
Using AI for OSINTNot stated
Using AI for Web ExploitationNot stated

What are the alternatives?

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does GOAA cost?

GIAC shows $999 plus tax; $899 plus tax (retake). Prices are as the issuer shows them, never converted.

How long is GOAA valid?

4 years, according to GIAC.

What is the passing score for GOAA?

67%, on an exam of 56 questions. GIAC doesn't publish a pass rate.

Is GOAA free?

No. GIAC shows $999 plus tax; $899 plus tax (retake).

What is the GOAA exam format?

56 questions, 120 minutes, proctored online or at a test center, as GIAC states it. The passing score is 67%.

How do you renew GOAA?

In GIAC's words: "Collect 36 CPEs or retake the exam, then pay the renewal fee: Certification Renewal $499 (USD, excluding applicable sales tax). Additional renewals within 2 years of a full-price ($499) renewal are $249."

How we chose

  • Alternatives: certifications in the same family or on the same topic, at the same level, leaving out partner-only and invite-only ones; a replacement the issuer names comes first.

Sources

  1. GIAC: GIAC Offensive AI Analyst (GOAA), giac.org, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  2. GIAC: giac.org, artificial intelligence, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  3. GIAC: giac.org, pricing, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  4. GIAC: giac.org, how to renew, accessed Oct 26, 2026
Go to GIAC's exam page