Anthropic
Claude courses from Anthropic: which to take first, and what each gives you
The Claude courses to start with are Claude 101 and AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations, both free with a badge. Anthropic's exams are for Claude partners only.
- Courses listed
- 15
- Free to take
- 12
- Certifications
- 4
Which Claude course should you take first?
- You are new to Claude: Claude 101: free, 2.5 hours, with a badge.
- You want a way of working with AI that outlasts one tool: AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations: free, 4 hours, with a badge.
- You teach: AI Fluency for Educators: free, 1.5 hours, with a badge. You run a small business: AI Fluency for Small Businesses: free, 3.5 hours, with a badge.
- You build with the API: Building with the Claude API: free, no certificate.
The catch: a badge or certificate of completion shows you finished a course, not that you passed an exam.
Can you get an Anthropic certification?
Only through your employer. Anthropic's exams are for members of the Claude Partner Network, so if your firm isn't a partner, the courses above are what you can take. See who can take Claude certifications.
Which Claude courses are there?
Anthropic's own courses first, then courses from other providers that name Claude; free first within each. From Anthropic, Coursera, GitHub and DeepLearning.AI. Not covered: LinkedIn Learning (we don't fetch it), Pluralsight (it isn't one of our sources) or Udemy (we can't check it at the moment).
| Course | Cost | Certificate | Level | Length |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Code 101Anthropic | Free | Free badge | Not stated by provider | 1.5 hours |
| Claude Platform 101Anthropic | Free | Free badge | Not stated by provider | 1.5 hours |
| Claude 101Anthropic | Free | Free badge | Beginner | 2.5 hours |
| Introduction to Claude CoworkAnthropic | Free | Free badge | Beginner | 2.5 hours |
| AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic | Free | Free badge | Beginner | 3.5 hours |
| AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic | Free | Free badge | Beginner | 4 hours |
| Building with the Claude APICoursera | Free | No certificate | Beginner | 1 week to complete at 10 hours a week |
| Prompt Engineering Interactive TutorialGitHub | Free to learn. Some parts paid | No certificate | Not stated by provider | Not stated by provider |
| Claude Code in ActionCoursera | Paid. Price on the provider's page | Certificate | Beginner | 1 hour |
| Real-World AI with Claude SpecializationCoursera | Paid subscription. Price on the provider's page | Professional certificate | Beginner | 4 weeks to complete at 10 hours a week |
| Introduction to Model Context ProtocolAnthropic | Free | Free badge | Not stated by provider | 1 hour |
| Introduction to agent skillsAnthropic | Free | Not stated by provider | Not stated by provider | 1 hour |
| AI Fluency for Small BusinessesAnthropic | Free | Free badge | Intermediate | 3.5 hours |
| Model Context Protocol: Advanced topicsAnthropic | Free | Free badge | Not stated by provider | 1.5 hours |
| AI Fluency for EducatorsAnthropic | Free | Free badge | Not stated by provider | 1.5 hours |
| Claude Code: Software Engineering with Generative AI AgentsCoursera | Paid. Price on the provider's page | Certificate | Beginner | 5 hours |
| Claude AI Tools for Beginners SpecializationCoursera | Paid subscription. Price on the provider's page | Professional certificate | Beginner | 4 weeks to complete at 10 hours a week |
| Claude Code: A Highly Agentic Coding AssistantDeepLearning.AI | Free for a limited time. Certificate paid | Paid certificate | Intermediate | 2 hours |
Which Claude exams are there, and what prepares for each?
| Exam | Who can take it | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Certified Architect - Foundations (CCAR-F) | Partners only | Active |
| Claude Certified Architect - Professional (CCAR-P) | Partners only | Active |
| Claude Certified Associate - Foundations (CCAO-F) | Partners only | Active |
| Claude Certified Developer - Foundations (CCDV-F) | Partners only | Active |
How to prepare, in Anthropic's words: Certification preparation courses for each credential are available in the Anthropic Partner Academy.
Courses behind a partner sign-in aren't listed on this site.
Courses on Anthropic's tools
Should you take an Anthropic course or an exam you can book?
Take an Anthropic course to learn Claude; book another issuer's exam if you need a tested result.
- You want to get better at Claude itself: Anthropic's own courses, listed above.
- You want a proctored exam you can book yourself: Generative AI Leader at $99 plus tax, or AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01) at $100. Neither is about Claude.
- You want a short course from another AI company: OpenAI Academy's AI Foundations (free, with a badge), or Agents and Workflows (free, with a badge) if you want to set up agents.
The catch: AI Foundations gives its badge only for a score of 80% or more on the assessment, and so does Agents and Workflows, so a quick read-through won't earn either.
Sources
- Anthropic: claude.com, four role based claude certifications, accessed Oct 22, 2026
- Anthropic: pearsonvue.com, anthropic, accessed Oct 22, 2026