AI Course Check

Anthropic

AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations

AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations is a free beginner course from Anthropic, online. It takes about 4 hours and ends with a free badge.

Before you sign up

Suits anyone new to working with AI as a first course. Built with academic partners, it covers using AI effectively, efficiently, ethically and safely, and the final assessment earns a free completion badge. The main caveat is that it teaches a way of working with AI rather than any one tool's features. A free alternative that needs no programming, only basic math, is Elements of AI: Introduction to AI from the University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn, which also gives a free certificate on passing.

Properties

Provider
Anthropic
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration
About 4 h
Level
Beginner
Cost
Free
Certificate
Free badge
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against Anthropic on Oct 22, 2026

Go to course on academy.claude.com

We're independent. Issuers and course providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

Anthropic's core AI literacy course, built with professors from Ringling College of Art and Design and University College Cork, on working with AI effectively, efficiently, ethically and safely through the 4D framework. Ends with a final assessment that earns a completion badge.

  • AI literacy and fundamentals
  • Responsible AI and ethics
  • Prompt engineering
  • Generative AI

Also available as AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations on ai-courses.ie.

Who it's for

  • Everyone (no background needed)

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

Not stated by provider.

Is AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations free?

Free; a free Claude account saves progress and earns the completion badge.

Certificate: free badge. Completion badge.

Where to take it

Related certifications

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations cost?

It's free.

How long does AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations take?

About 4 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations?

Yes: free badge. The provider calls it "Completion badge".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. The provider does not list prerequisites.

When does AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on AI literacy and fundamentals

Other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropicOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner3.5Free badge
AI concepts for developers and technology professionalsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner4Certificate not stated
Elements of AI: Introduction to AIElements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)Online, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
Introduction to AI in Azure (AI-901T00)Microsoft on Microsoft LearnOnlineFreeBeginnerNot statedNo certificate

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. Closed courses are left out.
  • Related certifications: Anthropic's own certifications, with the price, validity and requirements each issuer states.
  • Similar courses: other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.com.

Follow changes

Follow retirements, price changes and new AI certifications by RSS or JSON Feed. See Changes.

Go to course on academy.claude.com