AI Course Check

OpenAI Academy

AI Foundations

AI Foundations is a free beginner course from OpenAI Academy, online. It takes about 1 hour and ends with a free badge.

Before you sign up

For anyone starting to use ChatGPT at work who wants the core habits in about an hour: clear instructions, context and checking answers. It's free, short and ends with an assessed badge, which beats a video playlist as proof of learning. The caveats: it's built around ChatGPT, and you need a ChatGPT account. It's the first step in OpenAI's sequence; next comes Applied AI Foundations. For OpenAI's shorter reading resource, see ChatGPT Fundamentals.

Properties

Provider
OpenAI Academy
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration
About 1 h
Level
Beginner
Cost
Free
Certificate
Free badge
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against OpenAI Academy on Oct 5, 2026

Go to course on academy.openai.com

We're independent. Issuers and course providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

Free OpenAI Academy course for people new to AI at work. Covers giving clear instructions, providing context, checking responses and responsible use, applied to drafting, summarising, planning and meeting preparation. Score 80% or more on the assessment to earn a course badge.

  • AI literacy and fundamentals
  • Prompt engineering
  • Responsible AI and ethics
  • ChatGPT

Who it's for

  • Everyone (no background needed)
  • Business professionals

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

ChatGPT account. No other prerequisites stated.

Is AI Foundations free?

Free; requires a ChatGPT account, no workspace membership.

Certificate: free badge. OpenAI Academy course badge (80%+ on assessment).

Where to take it

Related certifications

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does AI Foundations cost?

It's free.

How long does AI Foundations take?

About 1 hour, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for AI Foundations?

Yes: free badge. The provider calls it "OpenAI Academy course badge (80%+ on assessment)".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: ChatGPT account. No other prerequisites stated.

When does AI Foundations start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on AI literacy and fundamentals

Other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropicOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner3.5Free badge
AI concepts for developers and technology professionalsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner4Certificate not stated
Introduction to AI in Azure (AI-901T00)Microsoft on Microsoft LearnOnlineFreeBeginnerNot statedNo certificate
Principles of Artificial Intelligence28DIGITAL on EIT CampusOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1-4 weeksDuration (as stated by provider)Free certificate

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. Closed courses are left out.
  • Related certifications: OpenAI's own certifications, then AI governance certifications from other issuers, with the price, validity and requirements each issuer states.
  • Similar courses: other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.com.

Follow changes

Follow retirements, price changes and new AI certifications by RSS or JSON Feed. See Changes.

Go to course on academy.openai.com