AI Course Check

Microsoft Learn

AI concepts for developers and technology professionals

AI concepts for developers and technology professionals is a free beginner course from Microsoft Learn, online. It takes about 4 hours. Microsoft Learn doesn't say whether there is a certificate.

Before you sign up

Suits developers and technical staff starting on the Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901) exam who want the concepts before writing code. At under four hours and free, it is a light first step. The main caveat is that it is concept-led: the hands-on Microsoft Foundry work sits in a separate path, and the exam is separate. A free companion is Get started with AI applications and agents on Azure, which needs basic Python.

Properties

Provider
Microsoft Learn
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration
About 4 h
Level
Beginner
Cost
Free
Certificate
Not stated by provider
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against Microsoft Learn on Oct 26, 2026

Go to course on learn.microsoft.com

We're independent. Issuers and course providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

Free self-paced Microsoft Learn path of seven modules (3 hours 51 minutes) that prepares for Exam AI-901: Microsoft Azure AI Fundamentals. It introduces AI concepts and terms, then generative AI and agents, natural language processing, speech, computer vision, information extraction and retrieval-augmented generation, with short hands-on exercises.

  • AI literacy and fundamentals
  • Generative AI
  • AI agents and agentic AI
  • Natural language processing
  • Computer vision

Prepares for Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901).

Who it's for

  • Developers and engineers

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

Basic understanding of computing concepts and math

Is AI concepts for developers and technology professionals free?

Free. Microsoft Learn training is free; the certification exam is separate.

Certificate: not stated by provider.

Where to take it

Related certifications

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does this course cost?

It's free.

How long does this course take?

About 4 hours, self-paced.

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: Basic understanding of computing concepts and math.

When does it start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on AI literacy and fundamentals

Other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI FoundationsOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1Free badge
AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropicOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner3.5Free badge
AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropicOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner4Free badge
Elements of AI: Introduction to AIElements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)Online, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. Closed courses are left out.
  • Related certifications: Microsoft's own certifications, with the price, validity and requirements each issuer states.
  • Similar courses: other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.com.

Follow changes

Follow retirements, price changes and new AI certifications by RSS or JSON Feed. See Changes.

Go to course on learn.microsoft.com