AI Course Check

Anthropic

AI Capabilities and Limitations

AI Capabilities and Limitations is a free beginner course from Anthropic, online. It takes about 3.5 hours and ends with a free badge.

Before you sign up

Suits anyone who uses AI tools and wants to understand why they sometimes get things confidently wrong. Explaining next-token prediction, knowledge, working memory and steerability in plain terms is more useful day to day than most 'intro to AI' courses. It's free, Anthropic lists it at 3.5 hours, and passing the quiz earns a completion badge. The main caveat is that it's conceptual rather than hands-on. For a longer, broader free grounding, try Elements of AI.

Properties

Provider
Anthropic
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration
About 3.5 h
Level
Beginner
Cost
Free
Certificate
Free badge
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against Anthropic on Oct 22, 2026

Go to course on academy.claude.com

We're independent. Issuers and course providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

Free Claude Academy course from Anthropic, for people with no technical background, giving a working mental model of how generative AI behaves and why. Covers next-token prediction, knowledge, working memory and steerability, so learners can spot unexpected outputs, judge what a task needs and apply targeted fixes. Passing the quiz earns a completion badge.

  • AI literacy and fundamentals
  • LLMs and RAG
  • Generative AI
  • Claude

Who it's for

  • Everyone (no background needed)

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

None; assumes no technical background and no prior experience with AI tools

Is AI Capabilities and Limitations free?

Free; a free Claude account saves progress and earns the completion badge.

Certificate: free badge. Completion badge.

Where to take it

Related certifications

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does AI Capabilities and Limitations cost?

It's free.

How long does AI Capabilities and Limitations take?

About 3.5 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for AI Capabilities and Limitations?

Yes: free badge. The provider calls it "Completion badge".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: None; assumes no technical background and no prior experience with AI tools.

When does AI Capabilities and Limitations start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on AI literacy and fundamentals

Other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI FoundationsOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1Free badge
AI concepts for developers and technology professionalsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner4Certificate not stated
Elements of AI: Introduction to AIElements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)Online, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
Introduction to AI in Azure (AI-901T00)Microsoft on Microsoft LearnOnlineFreeBeginnerNot statedNo certificate

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. Closed courses are left out.
  • Related certifications: Anthropic's own certifications, with the price, validity and requirements each issuer states.
  • Similar courses: other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.com.

Follow changes

Follow retirements, price changes and new AI certifications by RSS or JSON Feed. See Changes.

Go to course on academy.claude.com