AI Course Check

Microsoft

AI-900 certification is retired: Azure AI Fundamentals is now AI-901

The AI-900 certification exam was retired on June 30, 2026. You now earn Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals by passing AI-901, which costs $99 plus tax in the US.

Price as shown
$99 plus tax
Valid for
Does not expire
Format
Exam

Before you book AI-901

Status
Active as of Oct 26, 2026. Replaces Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-900), retired June 30, 2026.
Cost to certify
$99 plus tax: the exam fee plus Microsoft's own prep below (computed). Compare costs
Microsoft's prep
AI concepts for developers and technology professionals: Free, 3.9 hours; Get started with AI applications and agents on Azure: Free, 5.6 hours; Introduction to AI in Azure (AI-901T00): Free, length not stated by provider. In Microsoft's words: Microsoft Learn learning paths: AI concepts for developers and technology professionals (3 hr 51 min) and Get started with AI applications and agents on Azure (5 hr 37 min). Instructor-led course AI-901T00-A: Introduction to AI in Azure (1 day). A free Practice Assessment, on AI Skills Navigator (sign-in needed).
Renewal
Does not expire

Should you take it?

  • Suits developers starting out with AI on Azure who want an entry exam that does not expire.
  • Not for complete beginners to code: despite the fundamentals name, Microsoft expects Python syntax and familiarity with Azure resources.
  • The catch: 55 to 60% of the exam is building AI solutions in Microsoft Foundry, so reading about AI won't get you through.
  • Take AB-900 instead if you run Microsoft 365 rather than build on Azure; it covers Copilot and agent administration and also doesn't expire.

Is the AI-900 exam still available?

No. Microsoft retired AI-900 on June 30, 2026 and replaced it with AI-901. The certification keeps its name, Azure AI Fundamentals, so a course or answer that still says AI-900 is out of date.

Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901): the facts

Issuer
Microsoft
Program
Microsoft Certifications
Exam code
AI-901
Type
Exam
Proctoring
Not stated by Microsoft
Level
Foundational
Status
Active
Who can take it
No requirement listed
Prerequisites
In Microsoft's words

For this exam, you should have conceptual knowledge of AI solutions in Azure and the foundational technical skills to work with them. You also need knowledge of Python coding syntax and programming techniques, and you should be familiar with Azure resources.

Price as shown
$99 plus tax
Length
45 minutes
Passing score
700
Languages
English, Arabic (Saudi Arabia), Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), French, German, Indonesian (Indonesia), Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Russian, Spanish
Valid for
Does not expire
Go to Microsoft's exam page

Checked against Microsoft on Oct 26, 2026. Microsoft doesn't publish the delivery, questions or renewal.

What does the AI-901 exam cover?

The domains and weights in Microsoft's exam guide, in its own words. Checked against the guide on October 26, 2026. Exam guide
DomainShare of the exam
Identify AI concepts and capabilities40 to 45%
Implement AI solutions by using Microsoft Foundry55 to 60%

Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-900) (retired)

Should you take it?

  • Suits you only if you already passed AI-900 and want to show an employer it covered vision, language and generative AI on Azure.
  • Not for anyone planning to sit it now: Microsoft retired the AI-900 exam on June 30, 2026.
  • The catch: AI-901 puts 55 to 60% on building in Microsoft Foundry, which AI-900 never tested, so your pass looks dated.
  • Take AI-901, Microsoft's stated replacement, for Azure AI fundamentals today; it doesn't expire but expects Python coding syntax.
Price, length, validity and who can take it, from Microsoft's pages. Checked against Microsoft on Oct 26, 2026. Last changed on Oct 15, 2026. Microsoft
IssuerMicrosoft
Exam codeAI-900
StatusRetired June 30, 2026
Replaced byMicrosoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals

What does AI-901 expect you to know?

More coding than the name suggests. Microsoft expects Python syntax, a working idea of AI solutions in Azure and familiarity with Azure resources. If you don't code, a non-technical exam such as Generative AI Leader is a better fit.

Which entry-level AI exams could you take instead?

If you work on AWS, AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01) costs $100; AUD 150. If you use Google Cloud or don't code, Generative AI Leader costs $99 plus tax.

How do you prepare?

How we chose these

What are the alternatives?

How we chose these

What has changed?

Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-900)

· Retired

Microsoft retired the AI-900 exam on June 30, 2026; AI-901 replaces it.

"The AI-900 exam was retired on June 30, 2026, and has been replaced by AI-901." Microsoft

Questions people ask

Does Azure AI Fundamentals expire?

No. Microsoft says "Fundamentals certifications do not expire."

How much does AI-901 cost?

Microsoft shows $99 plus tax and says the price depends on the country or region where you take the exam.

How we chose

  • How to prepare: courses that name this certification, as each provider describes them, Microsoft's own first.
  • Alternatives: certifications in the same family or on the same topic, at the same level, leaving out partner-only and invite-only ones; a replacement the issuer names comes first.

Sources

  1. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, azure ai fundamentals, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  2. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AI-901 exam, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  3. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, renew your microsoft certification, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  4. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AI-901 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  5. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, ai 901t00, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  6. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, ai concepts, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  7. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, get started ai apps agents, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  8. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, exam duration exam experience, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  9. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AI-900 exam, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  10. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AI-900 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
Go to Microsoft's exam page