AI Course Check

Anthropic

Claude 101

Claude 101 is a free beginner course from Anthropic, online. It takes about 2.5 hours and ends with a free badge.

Before you sign up

Suits anyone starting to use Claude for everyday work. It runs from a first conversation to projects, artifacts, skills and connected tools, works with a free Claude account, and passing the quiz earns a free completion badge. The main caveat is that it teaches one vendor's assistant, and a few features need a paid plan to try. A free, tool-neutral alternative is Elements of AI: Introduction to AI from the University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn, which needs no programming, only basic math.

Properties

Provider
Anthropic
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration
About 2.5 h
Level
Beginner
Cost
Free
Certificate
Free badge
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against Anthropic on Oct 22, 2026

Go to course on academy.claude.com

We're independent. Issuers and course providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

Anthropic's starter course on using Claude for everyday work, from a first conversation and effective prompting to projects, artifacts, skills, connectors and research, ending with role-based use cases. Needs a Claude account on any plan, including Free; a few features shown need a paid plan.

  • Generative AI
  • AI literacy and fundamentals
  • Claude

Who it's for

  • Everyone (no background needed)
  • Business professionals

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

A Claude account on any plan (Free, Pro, Max, Team or Enterprise); no prior experience with Claude or other AI assistants needed

Is Claude 101 free?

Free; works with a Claude account on any plan, including Free; a few features shown need a paid plan to try.

Certificate: free badge. Completion badge.

Where to take it

Related certifications

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does Claude 101 cost?

It's free.

How long does Claude 101 take?

About 2.5 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for Claude 101?

Yes: free badge. The provider calls it "Completion badge".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: A Claude account on any plan (Free, Pro, Max, Team or Enterprise); no prior experience with Claude or other AI assistants needed.

When does Claude 101 start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on generative AI

Other generative AI courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Google Workspace with Gemini: Foundations of Your AI WorkflowGoogleOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerUnder 1Badge
Generative AI for ExecutivesAWS Skill BuilderOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerUnder 1Certificate not stated
Generative AI Overview for Project ManagersProject Management Institute (PMI)Online, self-pacedFreeBeginner1Free CPD certificate
Get started with AI applications and agents on AzureMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner5.5Certificate not stated

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. Closed courses are left out.
  • Related certifications: Anthropic's own certifications, with the price, validity and requirements each issuer states.
  • Similar courses: other generative AI courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.com.

Follow changes

Follow retirements, price changes and new AI certifications by RSS or JSON Feed. See Changes.

Go to course on academy.claude.com