AI Course Check

Anthropic

Claude Platform 101

Claude Platform 101 is a free course from Anthropic, online. It takes about 1.5 hours and ends with a free badge. We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

Suits developers who have used Claude in a chat window and want to build it into their own applications, from a single request to an agent. It is free, Anthropic lists it at 1.5 hours, and passing the quiz earns a completion badge. The main caveat is cost beyond the course: you need an API key, and after a small free credit for new accounts, API use is paid. A longer free alternative is Building with the Claude API on Coursera.

Good to know
  • Needs a paid tool license or subscription to take part. See the prerequisites.

Properties

Provider
Anthropic
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration
About 1.5 h
Level
Beginner (our rating)
Cost
Free
Certificate
Free badge
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against Anthropic on Oct 22, 2026

Go to course on academy.claude.com

We're independent. Issuers and course providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

Free Claude Academy course from Anthropic for developers building on the Claude Platform. Covers a first API request, choosing a model, writing the agent loop by hand and with the SDK's Tool Runner, tool use, extended thinking, built-in tools, skills, MCP servers, context management and managed agents.

  • LLMs and RAG
  • AI agents and agentic AI
  • Generative AI
  • Claude

Who it's for

  • Developers and engineers

Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

Comfort reading and writing code in at least one language and basic command-line familiarity; a Claude Console account and an API key

Is Claude Platform 101 free?

Free. Course free; API use is paid after a small free credit for new Claude Console accounts.

Certificate: free badge. Completion badge.

Where to take it

Related certifications

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does Claude Platform 101 cost?

It's free.

How long does Claude Platform 101 take?

About 1.5 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for Claude Platform 101?

Yes: free badge. The provider calls it "Completion badge".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: Comfort reading and writing code in at least one language and basic command-line familiarity; a Claude Console account and an API key.

When does Claude Platform 101 start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on LLMs and RAG

Other LLMs and RAG courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Python for BeginnersDeepLearning.AIOnline, self-pacedFree for nowCertificate paidBeginner12Paid certificate
ChatGPT fundamentalsOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedNo certificate
LLM CourseHugging Face LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeIntermediateEach chapter in this course is designed to be completed in 1 week, with approximately 6-8 hours of work per weekDuration (as stated by provider)No certificate
Evaluating RAG and Semantic Search SystemsNVIDIA Deep Learning InstituteOnline, self-pacedPaid. Price on the provider's pageIntermediate3Certificate not stated

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. Closed courses are left out.
  • Related certifications: Anthropic's own certifications, with the price, validity and requirements each issuer states.
  • Similar courses: other LLMs and RAG courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.com.

Follow changes

Follow retirements, price changes and new AI certifications by RSS or JSON Feed. See Changes.

Go to course on academy.claude.com