AI Course Check

OpenAI Academy

ChatGPT fundamentals

ChatGPT fundamentals is a free beginner course from OpenAI Academy, online. It has no certificate. OpenAI Academy doesn't say how long it takes.

Before you sign up

Suits anyone who wants a quick, plain explanation of what ChatGPT and large language models are before using them at work. It shows how people in marketing, sales, finance and engineering can apply it. The main caveat is that it's a short written guide rather than a structured course, with no certificate and no stated duration. A free alternative with a badge is AI Foundations from OpenAI Academy, about 1.25 hours.

Good to know
  • Duration not stated by provider.

Properties

Provider
OpenAI Academy
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration
Not stated by provider
Level
Beginner
Cost
Free
Certificate
No certificate
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against OpenAI Academy on Oct 26, 2026

Go to course on academy.openai.com

We're independent. Issuers and course providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

A short written guide explaining what ChatGPT and large language models are and how people in roles such as marketing, sales, finance and engineering can use it at work.

  • LLMs and RAG
  • AI literacy and fundamentals
  • Generative AI
  • ChatGPT

Who it's for

  • Everyone (no background needed)
  • Business professionals

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

Not stated by provider.

Is ChatGPT fundamentals free?

Free.

Certificate: no certificate.

Where to take it

Related certifications

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does ChatGPT fundamentals cost?

It's free.

Is there a certificate for ChatGPT fundamentals?

No, the provider does not offer one.

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. The provider does not list prerequisites.

When does ChatGPT fundamentals start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on LLMs and RAG

Other LLMs and RAG courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Claude Platform 101AnthropicOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1.5Free badge
Building with the Claude APIAnthropic on CourseraOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1 week to complete at 10 hours a weekDuration (as stated by provider)No certificate
Building with Llama 4DeepLearning.AIOnline, self-pacedFree for nowCertificate paidBeginner1.5Paid certificate
LLM CourseHugging Face LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeIntermediateEach chapter in this course is designed to be completed in 1 week, with approximately 6-8 hours of work per weekDuration (as stated by provider)No certificate

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. Closed courses are left out.
  • Related certifications: OpenAI's own certifications, with the price, validity and requirements each issuer states.
  • Similar courses: other LLMs and RAG courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.com.

Follow changes

Follow retirements, price changes and new AI certifications by RSS or JSON Feed. See Changes.

Go to course on academy.openai.com