AI Course Check

GIAC

GIAC GAIPS certification: what it costs and who can take it

GAIPS (GIAC AI Platform Security) costs $999 plus tax; $899 plus tax (retake), has 54 questions in 120 minutes and is valid for 4 years. Who can take it: no requirement listed.

Price as shown
$999 plus tax; $899 plus tax (retake)
Valid for
4 years
Format
Exam, proctored online or at a test center

Before you book GIAC AI Platform Security (GAIPS)

Status
Active as of Oct 26, 2026.
GIAC's prep
None listed here
Renewal
Collect 36 CPEs or retake the exam, then pay the renewal fee: Certification Renewal $499 (USD, excluding applicable sales tax). Additional renewals within 2 years of a full-price ($499) renewal are $249.

Should you take it?

  • Suits security engineers who protect AI platforms, from LLM apps and agent integrations to MLOps pipelines and deployment.
  • Not for business or governance staff, since the objectives center on architecture, infrastructure and pipeline security.
  • The catch: GIAC lists eight objectives with no weights, so you can't tell where to focus your revision.
  • Take GIAC Offensive AI Analyst instead if your role is red teaming, using AI for phishing, malware and deepfakes.

Who can take GAIPS?

Who can take it, in GIAC's words: "AI/ML Engineers; Application Security Engineers; Software Developers; Cloud Security Engineers; Security Managers, Practitioners, and Consultants; Security Auditors and Risk Managers"

GIAC AI Platform Security (GAIPS): the facts

Issuer
GIAC
Program
GIAC Certifications
Type
Exam
Proctoring
Proctored online or at a test center
Status
Active
Who can take it
AI/ML Engineers; Application Security Engineers; Software Developers; Cloud Security Engineers; Security Managers, Practitioners, and Consultants; Security Auditors and Risk Managers
Price as shown
$999 plus tax; $899 plus tax (retake)
Delivery
All GIAC Certification exams are web-based and required to be proctored. There are two proctoring options: remote proctoring through ProctorU, and onsite proctoring through PearsonVUE.
Length
120 minutes
Questions
54
Passing score
65%
Valid for
4 years
Renewal
In GIAC's words

Collect 36 CPEs or retake the exam, then pay the renewal fee: Certification Renewal $499 (USD, excluding applicable sales tax). Additional renewals within 2 years of a full-price ($499) renewal are $249.

Go to GIAC's exam page

Checked against GIAC on Oct 26, 2026. GIAC doesn't publish the exam code, prerequisites or languages.

What does the GIAC AI Platform Security (GAIPS) exam cover?

The domains and weights in GIAC's exam guide, in its own words. Checked against the guide on October 26, 2026. Exam guide
DomainShare of the exam
Agentic Systems and AI IntegrationsNot stated
AI and LLM FoundationsNot stated
AI Application Architecture and Development FrameworksNot stated
AI Infrastructure and Deployment SecurityNot stated
AI Risk Management and Strategic ApplicationNot stated
Development Pipelines and MLOps SecurityNot stated
Knowledge Augmentation and RetrievalNot stated
Model Customization and AlignmentNot stated

What are the alternatives?

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does GAIPS cost?

GIAC shows $999 plus tax; $899 plus tax (retake). Prices are as the issuer shows them, never converted.

How long is GAIPS valid?

4 years, according to GIAC.

What is the passing score for GAIPS?

65%, on an exam of 54 questions. GIAC doesn't publish a pass rate.

Is GAIPS free?

No. GIAC shows $999 plus tax; $899 plus tax (retake).

What is the GAIPS exam format?

54 questions, 120 minutes, proctored online or at a test center, as GIAC states it. The passing score is 65%.

How do you renew GAIPS?

In GIAC's words: "Collect 36 CPEs or retake the exam, then pay the renewal fee: Certification Renewal $499 (USD, excluding applicable sales tax). Additional renewals within 2 years of a full-price ($499) renewal are $249."

How we chose

  • Alternatives: certifications in the same family or on the same topic, at the same level, leaving out partner-only and invite-only ones; a replacement the issuer names comes first.

Sources

  1. GIAC: GIAC AI Platform Security (GAIPS), giac.org, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  2. GIAC: giac.org, artificial intelligence, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  3. GIAC: giac.org, pricing, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  4. GIAC: giac.org, how to renew, accessed Oct 26, 2026
Go to GIAC's exam page