IBM
IBM Certified watsonx Generative AI Engineer - Associate (C1000-185): what it costs and who can take it
IBM Certified watsonx Generative AI Engineer - Associate (C1000-185) costs $200 and has 62 questions in 90 minutes. Who can take it: no requirement listed.
- Price as shown
- $200
- Valid for
- Not stated by IBM
- Format
- Exam
Before you book C1000-185
- Status
- Active as of Oct 25, 2026.
- IBM's prep
- watsonx: Technical Essentials, no cost
- Renewal
- Not stated by IBM
Should you take it?
- Suits developers who build generative AI solutions on IBM watsonx and have the six months to a year of hands-on product experience IBM presumes.
- Not for engineers who mostly build retrieval apps: fine-tuning makes up 31% of the exam, and RAG only 17%.
- The catch: IBM gives no validity period, so you can't plan for renewal or know how long the credential counts.
Who can take C1000-185?
IBM lists what to know before it.
In IBM's words
Associate level certification tests presume foundational level skills in either a product or solution area. These exams presume that a candidate has six months to a year of hands-on experience with the product or solution.
IBM Certified watsonx Generative AI Engineer - Associate (C1000-185): the facts
- Issuer
- IBM
- Exam code
- C1000-185
- Type
- Exam
- Proctoring
- Not stated by IBM
- Level
- Associate
- Status
- Active
- Who can take it
- No requirement listed
- Prerequisites
In IBM's words
Associate level certification tests presume foundational level skills in either a product or solution area. These exams presume that a candidate has six months to a year of hands-on experience with the product or solution.
- Price as shown
- $200
- Length
- 90 minutes
- Questions
- 62
- Passing score
- 44 of 62 questions
- Languages
- English
- Valid for
- Not stated by IBM
Checked against IBM on Oct 26, 2026. IBM doesn't publish the delivery or renewal.
What does the C1000-185 exam cover?
| Domain | Share of the exam |
|---|---|
| Analyze and Design a Generative AI Solution | 15% |
| Prompt Engineering | 16% |
| Fine-Tuning | 31% |
| Retrieval-Augmented Generation (RAG) | 17% |
| Deployment | 13% |
| Integration with Model Orchestration | 8% |
How does C1000-185 compare with other associate certifications?
| Price among associate exams (computed) | 11 of 15 cost less, from stated US prices |
|---|---|
| Exam length against the median (computed) | 90 minutes against a median of 120 minutes across 14 associate exams |
How do you prepare?
IBM says: watsonx: Technical Essentials, no cost
Courses that need a partner sign-in aren't listed on this site.
Questions people ask
How much does C1000-185 cost?
IBM shows $200. Prices are as the issuer shows them, never converted.
What is the passing score for C1000-185?
44 of 62 questions, on an exam of 62 questions. IBM doesn't publish a pass rate.
Is C1000-185 free?
No. IBM shows $200.
What is the C1000-185 exam format?
62 questions, 90 minutes, as IBM states it. The passing score is 44 of 62 questions.
Sources
- IBM: IBM Certified watsonx Generative AI Engineer - Associate (C1000-185), ibm.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- IBM: ibm.com, ibm certified watsonx generative ai engineer v11 associate, accessed Oct 26, 2026