Project Management Institute
What is PMI-CPMAI, and who can take it?
PMI-CPMAI is PMI's AI project management exam. You book it after finishing PMI's exam prep course, and PMI asks for no earlier project management or AI experience.
- Price as shown
- $899 (non member); $699 (member)
- Valid for
- Not stated by Project Management Institute
- Format
- Exam, online proctoring offered
Before you book PMI Certified Professional in Managing AI (PMI-CPMAI)
- Status
- Active as of Oct 26, 2026.
- Project Management Institute's prep
- PMI-CPMAI Exam Prep Course: 21 hours, self-paced, included in the certification bundle
- Renewal
- Earn 30 professional development units (PDUs) every 3 years.
Should you take it?
- Suits people who manage AI projects and want a PMI credential, with no prior project management or AI experience required.
- Not for anyone after a quick exam: you must finish the 21-hour PMI-CPMAI Exam Prep Course before you can book it.
- The catch: at $899 full price, or $699 for PMI members, it's a big outlay, though the prep course is included.
PMI Certified Professional in Managing AI (PMI-CPMAI): the facts
- Issuer
- Project Management Institute
- Type
- Exam
- Proctoring
- Online proctoring offered
- Status
- Active
- Who can take it
- Course required first
In Project Management Institute's words
Be at least 18 years old, and complete the PMI-CPMAI Exam Prep Course (included in the bundle). PMI-CPMAI requires no prior project management, technical, or AI experience or certifications to enroll in the course and take the exam.
- Price as shown
- $899 (non member); $699 (member)
- Delivery
- In person at a test center (recommended) or proctored online, through Pearson VUE
- Length
- 160 minutes
- Questions
- 120
- Languages
- Arabic, Brazilian Portuguese, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Spanish (LATAM)
- Valid for
- Not stated by Project Management Institute
- Renewal
- Earn 30 professional development units (PDUs) every 3 years.
Checked against Project Management Institute on Oct 26, 2026. Last changed on Oct 20, 2026. Project Management Institute doesn't publish the exam code, prerequisites or passing score.
What does the PMI Certified Professional in Managing AI (PMI-CPMAI) exam cover?
| Domain | Share of the exam |
|---|---|
| Support Responsible and Trustworthy AI Efforts | 15% |
| Identify Business Needs and Solutions | 26% |
| Identify Data Needs | 26% |
| Manage AI Model Development and Evaluation | 16% |
| Operationalize AI Solution | 17% |
How do you prepare?
Project Management Institute says: Courses that need a partner sign-in aren't listed on this site.
What has changed?
PMI Certified Professional in Managing AI (PMI-CPMAI)
· Languages
The exam and its prep course are now offered in ten languages, where the exam content outline listed English only.
"The course and certification exam are available in the following languages" Project Management Institute
Sources
- Project Management Institute: PMI Certified Professional in Managing AI (PMI-CPMAI), pmi.org, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Project Management Institute: pmi.org, ai project management cpmai, accessed Oct 26, 2026