Ethics of AI
Elements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)
- Delivery
- Online, self-paced
- Cost
- Free
- Level
- Beginner (our rating)
- For
- Everyone, Public sector
- Duration
- Not stated
- Certificate
- Yes
Start any time
King's College London
Artificial Intelligence in National Security is a free course from King's College London, online. It's free for a limited time. It takes about 5 hours and ends with a paid certificate.
We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.
Suits defence, security and policy professionals, or anyone curious about military AI, who want a short academic overview. What stands out is the length: about 5 hours, self-paced, with free audit access to the materials for a limited time. The main caveat is that graded work and the verified certificate cost USD 249, paid to edX. A broader introduction to AI is Oxford's Artificial Intelligence Concepts: An Introduction at £430.
Checked against King's College London on 26 Oct 2026
Go to course on kcl.ac.ukWe're independent. Providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.
A self-paced online course from King's College London, delivered on edX and led by Professor Kenneth Payne, on how AI is changing warfare, surveillance and statecraft. It covers strategic uses of AI in defence, autonomy and decision-making in conflict, ethical and legal challenges, and competition between states. About 5 hours.
More courses on responsible AI and ethics.
Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.
No formal requirements. English proficiency recommended (IELTS Level 6).
Free for a limited time. Certificate paid. Audit free for a limited time (excludes graded assessments); USD 249 for full access and verified certificate, paid via edX.
Certificate: paid certificate. Verified certificate (edX).
King's College London is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 26 Oct 2026.
The provider shows prices in US dollars (USD). We show them as shown and never convert them to pounds.
If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.
None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.
Other UK courses for public sector: Artificial Intelligence Concepts: Practical Applications (University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education (Oxford Lifelong Learning)), Ethics of AI (London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)), Certificate of AI Readiness (CAIR) (Swansea University).
See also: free and funded training by nation.
Free for a limited time. Certificate paid.
About 5 hours, self-paced.
Yes: paid certificate. The provider calls it "Verified certificate (edX)".
It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: No formal requirements. English proficiency recommended (IELTS Level 6).
Start any time.
Some are. Artificial Intelligence in National Security is free or free to learn; the rest are paid.
Elements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)
Start any time
Scottish AI Alliance
Start any time
University of Edinburgh
Start any time
| Course | Delivery | Cost | Level | Hours | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Responsible use of ChatGPT at workOpenAI Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Not stated | No certificate |
| Responsible AI Innovation for SMEsUniversity of Edinburgh | Online, self-paced | Free to learnCertificate paid | Beginner | 4 weeksDuration (as stated by provider) | Paid certificate |
| BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA)Cardiff and Vale College | Live online | FundedFree under Personal Learning Accounts | Beginner | Part Time 3 hours per weekDuration (as stated by provider) | Exam certification |
| Ethics of AILondon School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) | Live online | £650 | Beginner | runs over three weeks, with a time commitment of 6–8 hours per weekDuration (as stated by provider) | Certificate |
We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.