AI Course Check

OpenAI Academy

Applied AI Foundations

Applied AI Foundations is a free course from OpenAI Academy, online. It takes about 1.5 hours and ends with a free badge. We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

For people who use ChatGPT regularly and want to stop re-typing prompts and build repeatable workflows with review points. The focus on quality, speed and cost trade-offs is practical for team use. The caveats: it's ChatGPT-specific and assumes the basics, so it's not a first course. It's free and about 90 minutes. If you're new to AI at work, start with AI Foundations from OpenAI Academy.

Properties

Provider
OpenAI Academy
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration
About 1.5 h
Level
Intermediate (our rating)
Cost
Free
Certificate
Free badge
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against OpenAI Academy on Oct 5, 2026

Go to course on academy.openai.com

We're independent. Issuers and course providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

Free OpenAI Academy course on turning good prompts into structured, repeatable workflows for recurring work: planning steps, inputs, models and tools, adding checkpoints and human review, and balancing quality, speed and cost. Course badge for 80% or more on the assessment.

  • Prompt engineering
  • AI for business and productivity
  • Generative AI
  • ChatGPT

Who it's for

  • Business professionals

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

ChatGPT account. No other prerequisites stated.

Is Applied AI Foundations free?

Free; requires a ChatGPT account, no workspace membership.

Certificate: free badge. OpenAI Academy course badge (80%+ on assessment).

Where to take it

Related certifications

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does Applied AI Foundations cost?

It's free.

How long does Applied AI Foundations take?

About 1.5 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for Applied AI Foundations?

Yes: free badge. The provider calls it "OpenAI Academy course badge (80%+ on assessment)".

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: ChatGPT account. No other prerequisites stated.

When does Applied AI Foundations start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on prompt engineering

Other prompt engineering courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Boost Bootcamp: How to Use Gemini at Work 101GoogleOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1Badge
ChatGPT Prompt Engineering for DevelopersDeepLearning.AIOnline, self-pacedFree for nowCertificate paidBeginner1.5Paid certificate
Work smarter with Copilot prompts for finance professionalsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree badge
AI Prompting for EveryoneDeepLearning.AIOnline, self-pacedFree to learnCertificate paidBeginner7Paid certificate

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. Closed courses are left out.
  • Related certifications: OpenAI's own certifications, with the price, validity and requirements each issuer states.
  • Similar courses: other prompt engineering courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.com.

Follow changes

Follow retirements, price changes and new AI certifications by RSS or JSON Feed. See Changes.

Go to course on academy.openai.com