AI Course Check

Microsoft

Microsoft Certified: AI Business Professional (AB-730): what it costs and who can take it

Microsoft Certified: AI Business Professional (AB-730) costs $99 and takes 45 minutes. Who can take it: no requirement listed.

Price as shown
$99
Valid for
Not stated by Microsoft
Format
Exam, proctored

Before you book AB-730

Status
Active as of Oct 26, 2026.
Cost to certify
$99: the exam fee plus Microsoft's own prep below (computed). Compare costs
Microsoft's prep
Build foundational generative AI skills: Free, length not stated by provider; Transform business workflows with generative AI: Free, 1 day. In Microsoft's words: Microsoft Learn course Transform business workflows with generative AI, two learning paths: Build foundational generative AI skills (2 hr 20 min) and Enhance business workflows with AI (4 hr 30 min). Instructor-led course AB-730T00-A (1 day). A free Practice Assessment on Microsoft Learn.
Renewal
Not stated by Microsoft

Should you take it?

  • Suits office staff who use Microsoft 365 Copilot at work and want a short 45-minute exam to show it.
  • Not for developers or admins: the exam is about using Copilot for prompts, chats, business content and agents.
  • Microsoft states no validity period or renewal rule, so you can't tell how long the $99 credential will count.
  • Take AI Transformation Leader instead if you lead AI adoption or change in your business rather than using Copilot day to day.

Who can take AB-730?

What to know before it, in Microsoft's words: "You should be comfortable using Microsoft 365 core apps such as Outlook, Word, Microsoft Teams, PowerPoint, and Excel."

Microsoft Certified: AI Business Professional (AB-730): the facts

Issuer
Microsoft
Program
Microsoft Certifications
Exam code
AB-730
Type
Exam
Proctoring
Proctored
Status
Active
Who can take it
No requirement listed
Prerequisites
You should be comfortable using Microsoft 365 core apps such as Outlook, Word, Microsoft Teams, PowerPoint, and Excel.
Price as shown
$99
Delivery
This exam will be proctored.
Length
45 minutes
Passing score
700 or greater
Languages
English, Arabic (Saudi Arabia), Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), French, German, Indonesian (Indonesia), Italian, Korean, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazil), Russian, Spanish
Valid for
Not stated by Microsoft
Go to Microsoft's exam page

Checked against Microsoft on Oct 26, 2026. Last changed on Oct 22, 2026. Microsoft doesn't publish the questions or renewal.

What does the AB-730 exam cover?

The domains and weights in Microsoft's exam guide, in its own words. Checked against the guide on October 26, 2026. Exam guide
DomainShare of the exam
Understand generative AI fundamentals25 to 30%
Manage prompts and chats by using Microsoft 365 Copilot20 to 25%
Manage business content and collaboration by using Microsoft 365 Copilot20 to 25%
Drive business outcomes by using agents20 to 25%

How do you prepare?

How we chose these

What are the alternatives?

How we chose these

What has changed?

Microsoft Certified: AI Business Professional (AB-730)

· Update

Microsoft reworded the recommended Microsoft 365 experience for the AI Business Professional exam (AB-730).

Quoted above. Microsoft

Questions people ask

How much does AB-730 cost?

Microsoft shows $99. Prices are as the issuer shows them, never converted.

Is AB-730 free?

No. Microsoft shows $99. Microsoft's own prep courses for it are free.

What is the AB-730 exam format?

45 minutes, proctored, as Microsoft states it. The passing score is 700 or greater.

How we chose

  • How to prepare: courses that name this certification, as each provider describes them, Microsoft's own first.
  • Alternatives: certifications in the same family or on the same topic, at the same level, leaving out partner-only and invite-only ones; a replacement the issuer names comes first.

Sources

  1. Microsoft: Microsoft Certified: AI Business Professional (AB-730), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  2. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, practice assessments for microsoft certifications, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  3. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AB-730 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  4. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, ab 730t00, accessed Oct 26, 2026
Go to Microsoft's exam page