AI Course Check

Microsoft

Microsoft Certified: AI Transformation Leader (AB-731): what it costs and who can take it

Microsoft Certified: AI Transformation Leader (AB-731) costs $99 and takes 45 minutes. Who can take it: no requirement listed.

Price as shown
$99
Valid for
Not stated by Microsoft
Format
Exam, proctored

Before you book AB-731

Status
Active as of Oct 26, 2026.
Cost to certify
$99: the exam fee plus Microsoft's own prep below (computed). Compare costs
Microsoft's prep
Drive AI transformation in your organization: Free, 1 day
Renewal
Not stated by Microsoft

Should you take it?

  • Suits managers who lead AI adoption or change in a business and already know Microsoft 365 and Microsoft Foundry.
  • Not for people who haven't run change in an organization, because Microsoft asks for experience guiding adoption or change management first.
  • The catch: most of the exam is about Microsoft's own AI apps and services, so it fits a Microsoft workplace better than a mixed one.
  • Take AI Business Professional instead if you use Microsoft 365 Copilot yourself and haven't led change; it asks only basic Microsoft 365 skills.

Who can take AB-731?

Microsoft lists what to know before it.

In Microsoft's words

You need experience leading adoption or change management in a business context. You must also be familiar with Microsoft 365 services, Microsoft Foundry, and general AI capabilities.

Microsoft Certified: AI Transformation Leader (AB-731): the facts

Issuer
Microsoft
Program
Microsoft Certifications
Exam code
AB-731
Type
Exam
Proctoring
Proctored
Status
Active
Who can take it
No requirement listed
Prerequisites
In Microsoft's words

You need experience leading adoption or change management in a business context. You must also be familiar with Microsoft 365 services, Microsoft Foundry, and general AI capabilities.

Price as shown
$99
Delivery
This exam will be proctored.
Length
45 minutes
Passing score
700 or greater
Languages
English, Arabic (Saudi Arabia), Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), French, German, Indonesian (Indonesia), Italian, Korean, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazil), Russian, Spanish
Valid for
Not stated by Microsoft
Go to Microsoft's exam page

Checked against Microsoft on Oct 26, 2026. Microsoft doesn't publish the questions or renewal.

What does the AB-731 exam cover?

The domains and weights in Microsoft's exam guide, in its own words. Checked against the guide on October 26, 2026. Exam guide
DomainShare of the exam
Identify the business value of generative AI solutions35 to 40%
Identify benefits, capabilities, and opportunities for Microsoft’s AI apps and services35 to 40%
Identify an implementation and adoption strategy for Microsoft’s AI apps and services20 to 25%

How do you prepare?

How we chose these

What are the alternatives?

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does AB-731 cost?

Microsoft shows $99. Prices are as the issuer shows them, never converted.

Is AB-731 free?

No. Microsoft shows $99. Microsoft's own prep courses for it are free.

What is the AB-731 exam format?

45 minutes, proctored, as Microsoft states it. The passing score is 700 or greater.

How we chose

  • How to prepare: courses that name this certification, as each provider describes them, Microsoft's own first.
  • Alternatives: certifications in the same family or on the same topic, at the same level, leaving out partner-only and invite-only ones; a replacement the issuer names comes first.

Sources

  1. Microsoft: Microsoft Certified: AI Transformation Leader (AB-731), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  2. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AB-731 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
Go to Microsoft's exam page