AI Course Check

University of Edinburgh

Natural Language Processing (NLP) 1 in R for Health and Social Care

Natural Language Processing (NLP) 1 in R for Health and Social Care is a paid course from University of Edinburgh, online. It costs £295. It ends with a CPD certificate.

We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

Suits data analysts and researchers in health and social care who already use R and want to start on text analysis. What stands out is the health focus, with examples from records, literature and social media text. The main caveat is the entry bar: intermediate R is required, and £295 buys up to 10 CPD hours. A free alternative in Python rather than R is the LLM Course from Hugging Face Learn, which is more advanced and not health-specific.

Properties

Provider
University of Edinburgh
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration (as stated by provider)
12 weeks
Level
Intermediate (our rating)
Cost
£295
Certificate
CPD certificate
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against University of Edinburgh on 26 Oct 2026

Go to course on shortcourses.ed.ac.uk

We're independent. Providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

Self-paced online course from the University of Edinburgh's Usher Institute introducing natural language processing in R for health and social care text data. Six chapters cover strings and regular expressions, loading and cleaning data, word frequency and visualisation, stems, lemmas and part-of-speech tags, plus ethical issues in text data use.

  • Natural language processing
  • Data science

Who it's for

  • Healthcare
  • Data scientists and analysts

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

Intermediate experience of R programming language

How much does Natural Language Processing (NLP) 1 in R for Health and Social Care cost?

£295. £295.00.

Certificate: CPD certificate.

Where to take it

Taking this course from the UK

University of Edinburgh is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 26 Oct 2026.

The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses for healthcare: Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence in Python (University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education (Oxford Lifelong Learning)), AI and Cyber Security: Attack and Defend (Learning Tree International), Building Practical Skills in NLP and Generative AI (Learning Tree International).

See also: free and funded training by nation.

Questions people ask

How much does this course cost?

£295.

Is there a certificate?

Yes: CPD certificate.

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: Intermediate experience of R programming language.

When does it start?

Start any time.

Are The University of Edinburgh AI courses free?

Some are. Responsible AI Innovation for SMEs is free or free to learn; the rest are paid.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on natural language processing

Other natural language processing courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Building Practical Skills in NLP and Generative AILearning Tree InternationalOnline or in person, London£1,780Advanced3 daysDuration (as stated by provider)Certificate not stated

Free alternative: Develop AI apps and agents on Azure from Microsoft Learn, certificate not stated.

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. At least one is a UK course where one fits. Closed courses are left out.
  • Similar courses: other natural language processing courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.co.uk.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.

Go to course on shortcourses.ed.ac.uk