AI Course Check

National Centre for Computing Education

Introduction to Machine Learning and AI

Introduction to Machine Learning and AI is a free course from National Centre for Computing Education, online. It takes about 8 hours.

National Centre for Computing Education doesn't say whether there is a certificate. We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

Suits computer science teachers who want to understand how machine learning works well enough to teach it. What stands out is the hands-on element: training working models with free online tools across about eight hours. The main caveat is that it assumes some understanding of computer science principles and needs a STEM Learning account. A shorter free alternative for non-specialists is the Raspberry Pi Foundation's Introducing AI.

Properties

Provider
National Centre for Computing Education
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration
About 8 h
Level
Intermediate (our rating)
Cost
Free
Certificate
Not stated by provider
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against National Centre for Computing Education on 26 Oct 2026

Go to course on teachcomputing.org

We're independent. Providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

A free self-paced online course of about eight hours for current or prospective computer science teachers. It covers classification and prediction, supervised and unsupervised learning, neural networks and the ethics of machine learning, with learners training their own models using free online tools. Access lasts a year after booking.

More courses on machine learning and on responsible AI and ethics.

Who it's for

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

This course is for current or prospective teachers of computer science who have some understanding of computer science principles.

Is Introduction to Machine Learning and AI free?

Free.

Certificate: not stated by provider.

Where to take it

Taking this course from the UK

National Centre for Computing Education is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 26 Oct 2026.

It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses for teachers and educators: Using AI in education settings: support materials (Department for Education), Using GenAI with Confidence for University & College Professional Services Staff (University of Edinburgh), AI and Ethics in GCSE computer science (National Centre for Computing Education).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for teachers and educators.

Questions people ask

How much does Introduction to Machine Learning and AI cost?

It's free.

How long does Introduction to Machine Learning and AI take?

About 8 hours, self-paced.

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: This course is for current or prospective teachers of computer science who have some understanding of computer science principles.

When does Introduction to Machine Learning and AI start?

Start any time.

Are National Centre for Computing Education AI courses free?

Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including AI and Ethics in GCSE computer science and AI in primary computing.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on machine learning

Other machine learning courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
CS50's Introduction to Artificial Intelligence with PythonHarvard University on edXOnline, self-pacedFreeIntermediateseven weeks of materialDuration (as stated by provider)Free certificate
Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C02 - English)AWS Skill BuilderOnline, self-pacedFree to learnSome parts paidIntermediate16Certificate not stated
Elements of AI: Building AIElements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)Online, self-pacedFree to learnCertificate EUR 50Intermediate50Paid professional certificate
BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA)Cardiff and Vale CollegeLive onlineFundedFree under Personal Learning AccountsIntermediatePart Time 3 hours per weekDuration (as stated by provider)Exam certification

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. At least one is a UK course where one fits. Closed courses are left out.
  • Similar courses: other machine learning courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.co.uk.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.

Go to course on teachcomputing.org