AI Course Check

Cardiff and Vale College

BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA)

BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA) is a free course from Cardiff and Vale College, online. It's free under Personal Learning Accounts. It ends with an exam certification.

Starts in 14 days (9 Nov 2026). We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

Suits employed adults in Wales who want a more technical grounding in machine learning with a BCS award at the end. What stands out is the free place under PLA and a short run from 9 November to 7 December 2026. The main caveat is that the page does not say how much coding is involved or what software is used. A free self-paced option with some Python is Elements of AI: Building AI, though its certificate costs EUR 50.

Good to know
  • Dates may change. Check the provider's page before you book.

Properties

Provider
Cardiff and Vale College
Format
Live sessions
Delivery
Online
Duration (as stated by provider)
Part Time 3 hours per week
Level
Intermediate (our rating)
Cost
Free under Personal Learning Accounts
Certificate
Exam certification
Language
English
Funding
Personal Learning Accounts
Next start
Starts in 14 days (9 Nov 2026)

Checked against Cardiff and Vale College on 26 Oct 2026

Go to course on cavc.ac.uk

We're independent. Providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

Evening course on Microsoft Teams leading to a BCS Foundation Award in Machine Learning. Topics include what machine learning is, coding concepts and techniques, common algorithms, real-world uses and practical points for implementation. Certification needs a short multiple-choice exam that can be taken remotely.

More courses on machine learning.

See also: AI certifications compared.

Who it's for

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: live online.

Prerequisites

GCSE English at least a C grade.

Is BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA) free?

Free under Personal Learning Accounts. Free for employed adults eligible for a Personal Learning Account (PLA), funded by the Welsh Government; full fee not shown.

Certificate: exam certification. BCS Foundation Award (multiple-choice exam).

Funding

Where to take it

  • Free (funded in Wales) on cavc.ac.uk, checked 26 Oct 2026.

Taking this course from the UK

Cardiff and Vale College is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 26 Oct 2026.

The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.

UK funding: Personal Learning Accounts.

Other UK courses on machine learning: Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) - Online (Forth Valley College), Introduction to artificial intelligence (City Lit), BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for developers and engineers.

Dates

Starts in 14 days (9 Nov 2026).

Questions people ask

How much does this course cost?

It's free under Personal Learning Accounts.

Is there a certificate?

Yes: exam certification. The provider calls it "BCS Foundation Award (multiple-choice exam)".

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: GCSE English at least a C grade.

When does it start?

Starts in 14 days (9 Nov 2026).

Are Cardiff and Vale College AI courses free?

Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA) and BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA).

How much do Cardiff and Vale College exams cost?

BCS* Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts and BCS* Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts. Fees are shown as Cardiff and Vale College shows them and never converted.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on machine learning

Other machine learning courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
CS50's Introduction to Artificial Intelligence with PythonHarvard University on edXOnline, self-pacedFreeIntermediateseven weeks of materialDuration (as stated by provider)Free certificate
Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C02 - English)AWS Skill BuilderOnline, self-pacedFree to learnSome parts paidIntermediate16Certificate not stated
Elements of AI: Building AIElements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)Online, self-pacedFree to learnCertificate EUR 50Intermediate50Paid professional certificate
Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence in PythonUniversity of Oxford Department for Continuing Education (Oxford Lifelong Learning)Live online£430Intermediate100Academic award

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other certification exams, part-time first, then by shared topic. At least one is a UK course where one fits. Closed courses are left out.
  • Similar courses: other machine learning courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.co.uk.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.

Go to course on cavc.ac.uk