AI Course Check

City Lit

Introduction to artificial intelligence

Introduction to artificial intelligence is a paid beginner course from City Lit, online or in person. It costs £149. It ends with a certificate, included in the fee. Next: 29 Nov 2026.

City Lit doesn't say how long it takes.

Before you sign up

Suits complete beginners in London who want a broad grounding in how AI works, its history and its ethical issues, with no prior skills needed. What stands out is the low fee, with senior and concession rates, and a choice of one-day or two-session runs. The main caveat is that it does not teach hands-on use of generative AI tools such as ChatGPT. City Lit's own Generative AI: A Short Introduction is the practical, tool-based alternative it points to.

Good to know
  • Duration not stated by provider.
  • Dates may change. Check the provider's page before you book.

Properties

Provider
City Lit
Format
Live sessions
Delivery
Online or in person, London
Duration
Not stated by provider
Level
Beginner
Cost
£149
Certificate
Included in fee
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Next: 29 Nov 2026

Checked against City Lit on 11 Oct 2026

Go to course on citylit.ac.uk

We're independent. Providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

An introductory class on what artificial intelligence is and how it works, covering key terms, the history of AI, how state-of-the-art algorithms work, demos and exercises, and ethical concerns. Taught through interactive lectures, demonstrations and discussion at City Lit's Keeley Street centre in London. It does not include hands-on training with generative AI tools such as ChatGPT.

More courses on machine learning and on responsible AI and ethics.

See also: AI courses in London.

Who it's for

  • Everyone (no background needed)

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online or in person, London.

Prerequisites

The course is introductory, so no skills needed. All levels welcome.

How much does Introduction to artificial intelligence cost?

£149 full fee; senior fee £119; concession £97.

Certificate included in fee. City Lit certificate of attendance.

Where to take it

Taking this course from the UK

City Lit is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 11 Oct 2026.

The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses on AI literacy and fundamentals: Living with AI (Scottish AI Alliance), Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) - Online (Forth Valley College), BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA) (Cardiff and Vale College).

See also: free and funded training by nation.

Dates

Next: 29 Nov 2026.

Start dates listed by the provider: 22 Oct 2026, 29 Nov 2026, 14 Jan 2027, 23 Feb 2027, 27 Apr 2027, 9 Jun 2027, 24 Jul 2027.

Questions people ask

How much does Introduction to artificial intelligence cost?

£149.

Is there a certificate for Introduction to artificial intelligence?

Yes: certificate included in fee. The provider calls it "City Lit certificate of attendance".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: The course is introductory, so no skills needed. All levels welcome.

When does Introduction to artificial intelligence start?

Next: 29 Nov 2026.

Are City Lit AI courses free?

No. Introduction to artificial intelligence costs £149.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on AI literacy and fundamentals

Other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI FoundationsOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1Free badge
AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropicOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner3.5Free badge
AI concepts for developers and technology professionalsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner4Certificate not stated
AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropicOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner4Free badge

Free alternative: Introduction to Generative AI from Google, free badge.

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. At least one is a UK course where one fits. Closed courses are left out.
  • Similar courses: other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.co.uk.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.

Go to course on citylit.ac.uk