AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning Plan
AWS Skill Builder
- Delivery
- Online, self-paced
- Cost
- Free to learn
- Level
- Beginner
- For
- Developers and engineers, Business professionals
- Duration
- About 8 hours
- Certificate
- Yes
Start any time
BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT
BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence is a paid course from BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT, online. It costs £160. It ends with an exam certification.
BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT doesn't say how long it takes. We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.
Suits people who want a recognised entry-level AI credential and are happy to prepare on their own. The exam is short, 30 minutes and 20 questions, but BCS says preparation usually takes at least 40 hours, and the £160 fee before VAT covers the exam only. The main caveat is that study materials or a taught course cost extra. A taught option is a one-day course with a BCS accredited training provider, at extra cost.
Checked against BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT on 26 Oct 2026
Go to course on bcs.orgWe're independent. Providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.
Entry-level BCS exam covering AI terminology, types and benefits of AI, the basic machine learning process, project risks and the future of AI at work. Self-study candidates can book the 30-minute, 20-question multiple-choice exam directly with BCS, or train with an accredited provider. No entry requirements.
More courses on machine learning.
See also: AI certifications compared.
Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.
There are no entry requirements for this certification. Training with a BCS accredited training provider is highly recommended.
£160 ex VAT, exam only, includes £35 remote proctoring fee; training with a provider costs extra. VAT: excluding (as stated).
Certificate: exam certification. BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence.
BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 26 Oct 2026.
The price is shown in pounds, excluding VAT, as the provider states it.
If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.
None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.
Other UK courses on AI literacy and fundamentals: Living with AI (Scottish AI Alliance), Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) - Online (Forth Valley College), BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA) (Cardiff and Vale College).
See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for managers and leaders.
£160.
Yes: exam certification. The provider calls it "BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence".
It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: There are no entry requirements for this certification. Training with a BCS accredited training provider is highly recommended.
Start any time.
No. BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence costs £160.
BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence: £160. Fees are shown as BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT shows them and never converted.
AWS Skill Builder
Start any time
Cardiff and Vale College
Next intake not announced
ILX Group
Dates not shown by provider
| Course | Delivery | Cost | Level | Hours | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI FoundationsOpenAI Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 1 | Free badge |
| AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 3.5 | Free badge |
| AI concepts for developers and technology professionalsMicrosoft Learn | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 4 | Certificate not stated |
| AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 4 | Free badge |
Free alternative: Google Workspace with Gemini: Foundations of Your AI Workflow from Google, badge.
We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.