AI Course Check

Gen AI certification compared: AWS, Google Gen AI Leader, AI-901

Pick the gen AI certification for the cloud you use: AWS AI Practitioner for AWS, Generative AI Leader for Google Cloud, AI-901 for Azure. All three are entry-level exams you can book yourself.

Which gen AI certification should you take?

The catch: the only one that never expires, Azure AI Fundamentals, is also the only one that expects you to know Python.

Take Copilot and Agent Administration Fundamentals instead if you run Microsoft 365 and want a 45-minute exam that also never expires.

How do they compare, fact by fact?

From each issuer's pages, checked against them on October 24, 2026. Prices as shown, never converted. Rows that match say "same for all".
FactAWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01)Generative AI LeaderMicrosoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901)
IssuerAmazon Web ServicesGoogle CloudMicrosoft
Exam codeAIF-C01Not stated by Google CloudAI-901
TypeSame for allExamExamExam
ProctoringOnline proctoring offeredProctored online or at a test centerNot stated by Microsoft
Price as shown$100; AUD 150$99 plus tax$99 plus tax
Length90 minutes90 minutes45 minutes
Questions6550 to 60Not stated by Microsoft
Passing score700Not stated by Google Cloud700
Valid for3 years3 yearsDoes not expire
Who can take itIndividuals who want to validate foundational knowledge of AI/ML concepts and generative AI on AWSThis certification is for anyone in any job role, with or without hands-on technical experience.
In Microsoft's words

For this exam, you should have conceptual knowledge of AI solutions in Azure and the foundational technical skills to work with them. You also need knowledge of Python coding syntax and programming techniques, and you should be familiar with Azure resources.

DeliveryPearson VUE testing center or online proctored examOnline-proctored or onsite-proctoredNot stated by Microsoft
LanguagesArabic, English, French (France), German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain), Simplified Chinese, Traditional ChineseEnglish, Japanese, Spanish, PortugueseEnglish, Arabic (Saudi Arabia), Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), French, German, Indonesian (Indonesia), Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Russian, Spanish
StatusActiveActiveActive
Checked against the issuer onOctober 26, 2026October 26, 2026October 24, 2026

What don't the issuers publish?

Questions people ask

Which one does not expire?

AI-901 (Azure AI Fundamentals): Microsoft says "Fundamentals certifications do not expire."

What has changed?

AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01)

· Languages

AWS retires the Italian and German versions of the AI Practitioner exam after October 15, 2026.

"The AWS Certified AI Practitioner exam in Italian and German will be retired after October 15, 2026." Amazon Web Services

Sources

  1. Amazon Web Services: aws.amazon.com, certified ai practitioner, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  2. Amazon Web Services: aws.amazon.com, before testing, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  3. Amazon Web Services: docs.aws.amazon.com, ai practitioner, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  4. Google Cloud: cloud.google.com, generative ai leader, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  5. Google Cloud: services.google.com, generative ai leader exam guide english, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  6. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, azure ai fundamentals, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  7. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AI-901 exam, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  8. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, renew your microsoft certification, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  9. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AI-901 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  10. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, ai 901t00, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  11. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, ai concepts, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  12. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, get started ai apps agents, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  13. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, exam duration exam experience, accessed Oct 26, 2026