AI Course Check

Cardiff and Vale College

BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA)

BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA) is a free course from Cardiff and Vale College, online. It's free under Personal Learning Accounts. It ends with an exam certification.

Next: 18 Jan 2027. We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

Suits employed adults in Wales involved in AI projects or digital leadership who want a business-focused BCS award. What stands out is the free place under PLA and evening sessions from January 2027. The main caveat is the limited detail on the page: no total hours or teaching materials are described. A free self-paced option for managers is AI Leadership from OpenAI Academy, which needs a ChatGPT account.

Good to know
  • Dates may change. Check the provider's page before you book.

Properties

Provider
Cardiff and Vale College
Format
Live sessions
Delivery
Online
Duration (as stated by provider)
Part Time 3 hours per week
Level
Beginner (our rating)
Cost
Free under Personal Learning Accounts
Certificate
Exam certification
Language
English
Funding
Personal Learning Accounts
Next start
Next: 18 Jan 2027

Checked against Cardiff and Vale College on 26 Oct 2026

Go to course on cavc.ac.uk

We're independent. Providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

Evening course on Microsoft Teams leading to a BCS Foundation Award on AI in organisations. It looks at how AI is changing business functions, the evolution of AI, organisational structure, AI's role in meeting business objectives and ways to assess the business environment. Assessment is a short multiple-choice exam taken remotely.

  • AI for business and productivity
  • AI literacy and fundamentals

See also: AI courses for beginners, free AI courses, AI certifications compared.

Who it's for

Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: live online.

Prerequisites

GCSE English at least a C grade.

Is BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA) free?

Free under Personal Learning Accounts. Free for employed adults eligible for a Personal Learning Account (PLA), funded by the Welsh Government; full fee not shown.

Certificate: exam certification. BCS Foundation Award (multiple-choice exam).

Funding

Where to take it

  • Free (funded in Wales) on cavc.ac.uk, checked 26 Oct 2026.

Taking this course from the UK

Cardiff and Vale College is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 26 Oct 2026.

The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

UK funding: Personal Learning Accounts.

Other UK courses on AI for business and productivity: Responsible AI Innovation for SMEs (University of Edinburgh), BCS Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT), AI Academy – Hands On AI Masterclass (NI Chamber).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for managers and leaders.

Dates

Next: 18 Jan 2027.

Questions people ask

How much does this course cost?

It's free under Personal Learning Accounts.

Is there a certificate?

Yes: exam certification. The provider calls it "BCS Foundation Award (multiple-choice exam)".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: GCSE English at least a C grade.

When does it start?

Next: 18 Jan 2027.

Are Cardiff and Vale College AI courses free?

Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA) and BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA).

How much do Cardiff and Vale College exams cost?

BCS* Essentials Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts, BCS Foundation Award: Award in Machine Learning (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts and BCS* Foundation Certificate in Artificial Intelligence (AI) (PLA): Free under Personal Learning Accounts. Fees are shown as Cardiff and Vale College shows them and never converted.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on AI for business and productivity

Other AI for business and productivity courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Empower your workforce with Microsoft CopilotMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree badge
Drive AI transformation in your organizationMicrosoft LearnOnlineFreeBeginner1 dayDuration (as stated by provider)Certificate not stated
Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01 - English)AWS Skill BuilderOnline, self-pacedFree to learnSome parts paidBeginner11Certificate not stated
AI Strategy and ImplementationHenley Business SchoolIn person£3,950Beginner2 days + follow-up sessionDuration (as stated by provider)Certificate not stated

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other certification exams, part-time first, then by shared topic. At least one is a UK course where one fits. Closed courses are left out.
  • Similar courses: other AI for business and productivity courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.co.uk.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.

Go to course on cavc.ac.uk