AI Course Check

IBM

IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate

IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate is a paid beginner course from IBM, online. It's a paid subscription; the price is on the provider's page.

It ends with a professional certificate.

Before you sign up

Suits newcomers who want a long, code-based route to building LLM applications, from Python basics up to RAG and agents. IBM rates it beginner, and the program has an ACE credit recommendation for participating US colleges. The main caveat is time and cost: Coursera estimates 6 months at 6 hours a week, it needs a subscription and the page shows no price. A free alternative is the LLM Course from Hugging Face Learn.

Properties

Provider
IBM
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration (as stated by provider)
6 months at 6 hours a week
Level
Beginner
Cost
Paid subscription. Price on the provider's page
Certificate
Professional certificate
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against IBM on Oct 26, 2026

Go to course on coursera.org

We're independent. Issuers and course providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

IBM's 16-course Professional Certificate on Coursera, from AI and generative AI basics, prompt engineering and Python data analysis through machine learning and deep learning to transformers, LLMs, fine-tuning, RAG and LangChain. It ends with a guided project to build a generative AI application.

  • Generative AI
  • LLMs and RAG
  • Prompt engineering
  • Machine learning
  • Deep learning
  • Natural language processing

Prepares for IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate.

Who it's for

  • Developers and engineers
  • Data scientists and analysts
  • Students and career changers

Level: beginner (as stated by the provider). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

No prior experience required

How much does IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate cost?

Paid subscription. Price on the provider's page. Coursera subscription; price not shown on the page; financial aid available.

Certificate: professional certificate. IBM Professional Certificate (Coursera).

Where to take it

  • Paid, price not recorded yet on coursera.org, checked Oct 26, 2026.

Related certifications

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does this course cost?

Paid subscription. Price on the provider's page.

Is there a certificate?

Yes: professional certificate. The provider calls it "IBM Professional Certificate (Coursera)".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course. Prerequisites: No prior experience required.

When does it start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on generative AI

Other generative AI courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Google Workspace with Gemini: Foundations of Your AI WorkflowGoogleOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerUnder 1Badge
Generative AI for ExecutivesAWS Skill BuilderOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerUnder 1Certificate not stated
Introduction to Generative AI - Art of the PossibleAWS Skill BuilderOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1Certificate not stated
Generative AI Overview for Project ManagersProject Management Institute (PMI)Online, self-pacedFreeBeginner1Free CPD certificate

Free alternative: AI Boost Bootcamp: How to Use Gemini at Work 101 from Google, badge.

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. Closed courses are left out.
  • Related certifications: IBM's own certifications, with the price, validity and requirements each issuer states.
  • Similar courses: other generative AI courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.com.

Follow changes

Follow retirements, price changes and new AI certifications by RSS or JSON Feed. See Changes.

Go to course on coursera.org