IBM
IBM AI certificates: AI engineering, generative AI and developer
IBM AI certificates are Coursera course certificates, not exams. Take AI Developer if you don't code yet, and AI Engineering only if you already work in Python.
- Certificates
- 6
- Type
- Course certificates, no exam
Which IBM AI certificate should you take first?
- You don't code yet: IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate. IBM says the first five courses need no programming, but the final two do. It takes 6 months at 4 hours a week.
- You want to build generative AI apps: IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate, which IBM says needs no prior experience. It takes 6 months at 6 hours a week.
- You already work in Python: IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate. IBM asks for working knowledge of Python and Jupyter Notebooks. It takes 4 months at 10 hours a week.
The catch: these are course certificates, so they show finished coursework, not a passed proctored exam. Check the price on Coursera before you enroll; it isn't stated here.
Which IBM AI certificates are there?
| Certification | Level | Type | Price as shown | Who can take it | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IBM Certified watsonx Generative AI Engineer - Associate (C1000-185) | Associate | Exam | $200 | No requirement listed | Active |
| IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate | Not stated | Course certificate | Not stated by IBM | No requirement listed | Active |
Should you take it?
| |||||
| IBM AI Product Manager Professional Certificate | Not stated | Course certificate | Not stated by IBM | Open to anyone | Active |
Should you take it?
| |||||
| IBM RAG and Agentic AI Professional Certificate | Not stated | Course certificate | Not stated by IBM | No requirement listed | Active |
| IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate | Not stated | Course certificate | Not stated by IBM | No requirement listed | Active |
| IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate | Not stated | Course certificate | Not stated by IBM | No requirement listed | Active |
Should you take it?
| |||||
Should you take an IBM certificate or an exam?
Take an IBM certificate to learn a subject; book an exam when you need a passed test.
- You code in Python and want to build agents: IBM RAG and Agentic AI Professional Certificate takes 8 weeks at 3 hours a week and needs working knowledge of Python programming.
- You manage AI products rather than build them: IBM AI Product Manager Professional Certificate, which Coursera says is open for anyone with any job and academic background. It takes 3 months to complete at 10 hours a week.
- You want an exam on Azure: Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901), $99 plus tax. It doesn't expire, and Microsoft expects knowledge of Python coding syntax.
- You want an exam on AWS: AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01), $100, with 65 questions in 90 minutes.
The catch: an exam tests you but doesn't teach you, so you prepare on your own or with a separate course.
How do you prepare?
| Course | Cost | Length | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| IBM AI Developer Professional CertificateIBM | Paid subscription. Price on the provider's page | 6 months at 4 hours a week | Professional certificate |
| IBM AI Engineering Professional CertificateIBM | Paid subscription. Price on the provider's page | 4 months at 10 hours a week | Professional certificate |
| IBM AI Product Manager Professional CertificateIBM | Paid subscription. Price on the provider's page | 3 months to complete at 10 hours a week | Professional certificate |
| IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional CertificateIBM | Paid subscription. Price on the provider's page | 6 months at 6 hours a week | Professional certificate |
| IBM RAG and Agentic AI Professional CertificateIBM | Free to learn. Some parts paid | 8 weeks at 3 hours a week | Professional certificate |
Questions people ask
Is the IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate worth it?
It suits people who already code in Python: IBM asks for working knowledge of Python and Jupyter Notebooks. It is a course certificate, not a proctored exam, so it shows completed coursework.
How long do the IBM AI certificates take?
IBM gives each one as months at a weekly pace: AI Developer takes 6 months at 4 hours a week, Generative AI Engineering 6 months at 6 hours a week and AI Engineering 4 months at 10 hours a week.
Sources
- IBM: IBM Certified watsonx Generative AI Engineer - Associate (C1000-185), ibm.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- IBM: ibm.com, ibm certified watsonx generative ai engineer v11 associate, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- IBM: IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate, coursera.org, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- IBM: IBM AI Product Manager Professional Certificate, coursera.org, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- IBM: IBM RAG and Agentic AI Professional Certificate, coursera.org, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- IBM: IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate, coursera.org, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- IBM: IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate, coursera.org, accessed Oct 26, 2026