Teach teens computing: Understanding AI for educators
Raspberry Pi Foundation
- Delivery
- Online, self-paced
- Cost
- Free
- Level
- Beginner (our rating)
- For
- Teachers and educators
- Duration (as stated by provider)
- 3 to 6 hours
- Certificate
- Yes
Start any time
National Centre for Computing Education
AI in primary computing is a free course from National Centre for Computing Education, online. It takes about 1.5 hours.
National Centre for Computing Education doesn't say whether there is a certificate. We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.
Suits primary teachers and computing subject leaders who want to know where AI fits in the primary curriculum. What stands out is the focus on age-appropriate resources that slot into existing lessons. The main caveat is that it is short and introductory, and the page gives two lengths: 2 hours in the summary and about 1.5 hours in the detail. A free alternative with a wider view across school settings is the Department for Education's Using AI in education settings materials.
Checked against National Centre for Computing Education on 26 Oct 2026
Go to course on teachcomputing.orgWe're independent. Providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.
A free self-paced online course for primary computing subject leaders and teachers on what AI is, how pupils meet it in everyday life, where it fits in the primary computing curriculum and how to add age-appropriate AI resources to existing lessons. Access lasts a year after booking.
See also: AI courses for beginners, free AI courses.
Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.
Not stated by provider.
Free.
Certificate: not stated by provider.
National Centre for Computing Education is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 26 Oct 2026.
It is free to take. We show any paid extras, such as a certificate, as the provider prices them.
If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.
None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.
Other UK courses for teachers and educators: Using AI in education settings: support materials (Department for Education), Using GenAI with Confidence for University & College Professional Services Staff (University of Edinburgh), AI and Ethics in GCSE computer science (National Centre for Computing Education).
See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for teachers and educators.
It's free.
About 1.5 hours, self-paced.
It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). The provider does not list prerequisites.
Start any time.
Yes, every one we list is free or free to learn, including AI and Ethics in GCSE computer science and AI in primary computing.
Raspberry Pi Foundation
Start any time
Raspberry Pi Foundation
Start any time
Raspberry Pi Foundation
Start any time
| Course | Delivery | Cost | Level | Hours | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI FoundationsOpenAI Academy | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 1 | Free badge |
| AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropic | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 3.5 | Free badge |
| AI concepts for developers and technology professionalsMicrosoft Learn | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 4 | Certificate not stated |
| AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropic | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | 4 | Free badge |
We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.