AI architect certifications: which one fits your platform
The AI architect certification to take depends on your platform: AB-100 or AI-500 for Microsoft, Claude Certified Architect through a Claude partner firm, or Google's Agentic Architect once it opens.
- AB-100 price
- $165 plus tax
- AI-500 price
- $165 plus tax
Which AI architect certifications can you take?
Each certification below is an architect-level credential for designing AI and agent systems, as its issuer describes it. Facts are as each issuer states them.
Lowest stated price in this group: $165 (Microsoft Certified: Multi-Agent AI Solutions Expert (AI-500) and Microsoft Certified: Agentic AI Business Solutions Architect Expert (AB-100)) (computed from the standard or non-member US prices below).
Every live certification we track in this group, with each fact as its issuer states it. Cost to certify is computed by us: the one-off exam fee plus the issuer's own prep courses, only when each price is stated (how it is worked out). Never converted.
| Certification | Issuer | Level | Type | Price as shown | Cost to certify (computed) | Valid for | Who can take it | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Certified Architect - Foundations (CCAR-F) | Anthropic | Foundational | ExamProctored online or at a test center | Not stated by Anthropic | Not computed: no one-off exam fee stated | Not stated by Anthropic | Partners only | Active |
| Claude Certified Architect - Professional (CCAR-P) | Anthropic | Professional | ExamProctored online or at a test center | Not stated by Anthropic | Not computed: no one-off exam fee stated | Not stated by Anthropic | Partners only | Active |
| Microsoft Certified: Multi-Agent AI Solutions Expert (AI-500) | Microsoft | Expert | Exam | $165 plus tax | Not computed: no issuer prep course listed | 1 year | Needs another credential | Active |
| Microsoft Certified: Agentic AI Business Solutions Architect Expert (AB-100) | Microsoft | Expert | Exam | $165 plus tax | $165 plus tax (computed) | 1 year | Needs another credential | Active |
| Professional Agentic Architect | Google Cloud | Professional | ExamProctored online or at a test center | $120 plus tax (beta); $200 plus tax | Not computed: no issuer prep course listed | 1 year | No requirement listed | Announced |
Which AI architect certification fits your platform?
- You design business solutions with Microsoft agents: Microsoft Certified: Agentic AI Business Solutions Architect Expert (AB-100), $165 plus tax. You also need one of the prerequisite Associate certifications.
- You build multi-agent systems on Azure: Microsoft Certified: Multi-Agent AI Solutions Expert (AI-500), $165 plus tax. It needs the Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer Associate (AI-103) first.
- You work at a Claude partner firm: Claude Certified Architect - Foundations (CCAR-F) is for solution architects who design and build agent systems with Claude, and Claude Certified Architect - Professional (CCAR-P) is the advanced credential.
- You work on Google Cloud: Professional Agentic Architect is announced, with a 180 minutes exam.
The catch: none of these is an entry point. Microsoft's two need an associate certification first, and the Claude exams are open only to organizations in the Claude Partner Network.
How do you prepare?
| Course | Cost | Length | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Architecting agentic AI business solutionsMicrosoft | Free | 3 days | Certificate not stated |
| Architect AI solutions for business productivityMicrosoft | Free | 11.4 hours | Certificate not stated |
Questions people ask
Claude Certified Architect or AB-100: which should I take?
It depends on your platform and employer. Microsoft Certified: Agentic AI Business Solutions Architect Expert (AB-100) suits Microsoft work, and you also need a prerequisite associate certification. Claude Certified Architect - Foundations (CCAR-F) is only for organizations in the Claude Partner Network.
What has changed?
Claude Certified Architect - Professional (CCAR-P)
· Update
Anthropic updates the Claude Certified Architect Professional exam content on 7 December 2026, with an updated exam guide from 17 November 2026.
"Architect – Professional exams will include updated content starting on this date. Updated exam guides will be available on November 17, 2026. If you plan to test on December 7 or later, use the updated guide to prepare." Anthropic
Microsoft Certified: Agentic AI Business Solutions Architect Expert (AB-100)
· Update
Microsoft changes the AB-100 skills measured from 16 November 2026: planning and design carry more weight, deployment less.
"Skills measured as of November 16, 2026" Microsoft
Sources
- Anthropic: AI architect certifications, claude.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Anthropic: AI architect certifications, pearsonvue.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: Microsoft Certified: Multi-Agent AI Solutions Expert (AI-500), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, multi agent ai solutions expert, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: AI architect certifications, learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AI-500 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: Microsoft Certified: Agentic AI Business Solutions Architect Expert (AB-100), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AB-100 exam, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, practice assessments for microsoft certifications, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AB-100 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, ab 100t00, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, architect agentic ai business solutions, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Google Cloud: Professional Agentic Architect, cloud.google.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Google Cloud: services.google.com, professional agentic architect exam guide english, accessed Oct 26, 2026