AI Course Check

Google

Google AI Essentials: what it costs and who can take it

Google AI Essentials costs $49 per month and takes 4 hours to complete. Who can take it: open to anyone.

Price as shown
$49 per month
Valid for
Not stated by Google
Format
Course certificate

Before you book Google AI Essentials

Status
Active as of Oct 26, 2026.
What you get
A course that ends in a certificate from Google, with no separate exam.
Renewal
Not stated by Google

Should you take it?

  • Suits anyone with no technical background who wants a short, self-paced first course in AI, at 4 hours on Coursera.
  • Not for anyone after technical depth or a tested skill: Google pitches it at people with zero experience.
  • The catch: Coursera bills $49 per month in the U.S. and Canada after a 7-day free trial, so cancel once you finish.
  • Take Google AI Professional Certificate instead if you can give 8 hours and want a longer course, still with no prerequisites.

Who can take Google AI Essentials?

Who can take it, in Google's words: "This self-paced program is accessible to everyone and is designed to fit into busy schedules." What to know before it, in Google's words: "Zero experience required. You don’t need any technical experience to begin."

Google AI Essentials: the facts

Issuer
Google
Program
Google Career Certificates
Type
Course certificate
Status
Active
Who can take it
This self-paced program is accessible to everyone and is designed to fit into busy schedules.
Prerequisites
Zero experience required. You don’t need any technical experience to begin.
Price as shown
$49 per month
Delivery
In Google's words

Google AI Essentials is available on Coursera, an online learning platform that offers access to online courses. Google AI Essentials is an online program that you can complete at your own pace.

Length
4 hours to complete
Languages
English
Go to Google's course page

Checked against Google on Oct 26, 2026. Google doesn't publish the exam code, validity or renewal.

How do you prepare?

How we chose these

  • Google AI Essentials

    Google

    Delivery
    Online, self-paced
    Cost
    $49 per month
    Level
    Beginner
    For
    Everyone, Business professionals
    Duration
    About 4 hours
    Certificate
    Yes

What are the alternatives?

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does Google AI Essentials cost?

Google shows $49 per month. Prices are as the issuer shows them, never converted.

Is Google AI Essentials free?

No. Google shows $49 per month.

Is Google AI Essentials a course or a certificate?

Both: it is a course, and finishing it earns a certificate from Google. There is no proctored exam. Google shows $49 per month. Google gives its length as 4 hours to complete.

Should you take Google AI Essentials or Google AI Professional Certificate first?

It depends on what you want from it. Google AI Essentials vs Google AI Professional Certificate sets their stated price, length and who each suits side by side.

How we chose

  • How to prepare: courses that name this certification, as each provider describes them, Google's own first.
  • Alternatives: certifications in the same family or on the same topic, at the same level, leaving out partner-only and invite-only ones; a replacement the issuer names comes first.

Sources

  1. Google: Google AI Essentials, coursera.org, accessed Oct 26, 2026
Go to Google's course page