Google AI Essentials vs the AI Professional Certificate: which to take
Google AI Essentials is the short start (4 hours to complete); the AI Professional Certificate is longer (8 hours to complete). Both cost $49 a month in the US and Canada.
Which should you take?
- Take Google AI Essentials if you want a short start: 4 hours on Coursera, with no experience needed.
- Take the Google AI Professional Certificate if you want more depth: 8 hours, still with no prerequisites.
The catch: both bill $49 a month on Coursera in the U.S. and Canada, so the longer course costs more the slower you go.
Take Google Prompting Essentials instead if you mainly want to write better prompts; it takes 4 hours and needs no experience.
How do they compare, fact by fact?
| Fact | Google AI Essentials | Google AI Professional Certificate |
|---|---|---|
| IssuerSame for both | ||
| Exam codeSame for both | None (course certificate) | None (course certificate) |
| TypeSame for both | Course certificate | Course certificate |
| ProctoringSame for both | No exam | No exam |
| Price as shownSame for both | $49 per month | $49 per month |
| Length | 4 hours to complete | 8 hours to complete |
| QuestionsSame for both | No exam | No exam |
| Passing scoreSame for both | No exam | No exam |
| Valid forSame for both | Not stated by Google | Not stated by Google |
| Who can take it | This self-paced program is accessible to everyone and is designed to fit into busy schedules. | There are no prerequisites, you don’t need any experience with AI to get started. |
| Delivery | In Google's wordsGoogle AI Essentials is available on Coursera, an online learning platform that offers access to online courses. Google AI Essentials is an online program that you can complete at your own pace. | Learn at your own pace. This course is completely online. |
| LanguagesSame for both | English | English |
| Status | Active | Active |
| Checked against the issuer on | October 26, 2026 | October 26, 2026 |
What don't the issuers publish?
- Google AI Essentials: Google doesn't state the validity period on the pages checked.
- Google AI Professional Certificate: Google doesn't state the validity period on the pages checked.
Do the Google AI certificates expire?
Google doesn't say whether either certificate expires. Neither has an exam to retake.
What should you take if neither Google certificate fits?
Try a free Google course first, or book the Generative AI Leader exam if you need a tested result.
- You want to try before you subscribe: Introduction to Generative AI (free, 45 minutes, with a badge).
- You only want to write better prompts: Google Prompting Essentials, for the same $49 a month in the US and Canada.
- You want a tested result rather than coursework: Generative AI Leader, $99 plus tax, 50 to 60 questions in 90 minutes, valid for 3 years.
The catch: the free course ends in a badge rather than a Google certificate, and only the exam tests you under supervision.
Questions people ask
Is Google AI Essentials free?
No. Google shows $49 per month.
Sources
- Google: coursera.org, google ai essentials, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Google: grow.google, ai professional, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Google: coursera.org, google ai, accessed Oct 26, 2026