AI Course Check

Google

Google AI Professional Certificate: cost, length and who it suits

The Google AI Professional Certificate costs $49 a month in the US and Canada, as a subscription. Google says you need no AI experience, and Coursera lists it at 8 hours to complete.

Price as shown
$49 per month
Valid for
Not stated by Google
Format
Course certificate

Before you book Google AI Professional Certificate

Status
Active as of Oct 26, 2026.
What you get
A course that ends in a certificate from Google, with no separate exam.
Renewal
Not stated by Google

Should you take it?

  • Suits beginners with no AI experience who can set aside 8 hours and want a Google certificate from a self-paced online course.
  • Not for anyone who needs a proctored exam to show employers, as this is a course you work through online at your own pace.
  • The catch: Coursera bills $49 per month in the U.S. and Canada, so the total depends on how quickly you finish the 8 hours.
  • Take Google AI Essentials instead if you want a shorter start: a 4-hour self-paced course on Coursera, with zero experience required.

Who is the Google AI Professional Certificate for?

Beginners who want a Google-branded certificate for using AI at work. Google says you don't need any experience with AI. The catch: it is a course certificate, not a proctored exam, and Google doesn't say whether it expires.

How much does the Google AI Professional Certificate cost?

It is a subscription: $49 per month in the US and Canada, so the total depends on how many months you stay subscribed. Google says prices may differ in other countries.

Google AI Professional Certificate: the facts

Issuer
Google
Program
Google Career Certificates
Type
Course certificate
Status
Active
Who can take it
No requirement listed
Prerequisites
There are no prerequisites, you don’t need any experience with AI to get started.
Price as shown
$49 per month
Delivery
Learn at your own pace. This course is completely online.
Length
8 hours to complete
Languages
English
Go to Google's course page

Checked against Google on Oct 26, 2026. Google doesn't publish the exam code, validity or renewal.

Google AI Essentials or the Professional Certificate?

Take Google AI Essentials if you only want the basics. Both list the same monthly price. See Google AI Essentials vs the AI Professional Certificate.

Should you take this certificate, a free course or an exam?

Take this certificate if you want a Google certificate in using AI at work; book an exam if you need a tested result.

  • You want to try Google's AI training free first: Introduction to Generative AI: free, 45 minutes, with a badge.
  • You want a proctored exam instead of coursework: Generative AI Leader, $99 plus tax, 50 to 60 questions in 90 minutes. Google Cloud says it is for anyone in any job role.

The catch: the free course ends in a badge, not a Google certificate, and only the exam is proctored.

How do you prepare?

How we chose these

What are the alternatives?

How we chose these

Questions people ask

Is the Google AI Professional Certificate free?

No. Google shows $49 per month in the US and Canada.

How we chose

  • How to prepare: courses that name this certification, as each provider describes them, Google's own first.
  • Alternatives: certifications in the same family or on the same topic, at the same level, leaving out partner-only and invite-only ones; a replacement the issuer names comes first.

Sources

  1. Google: Google AI Professional Certificate, grow.google, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  2. Google: coursera.org, google ai, accessed Oct 26, 2026
Go to Google's course page