AI Course Check

University of Birmingham

Evaluation and Governance of AI in Healthcare

Evaluation and Governance of AI in Healthcare is a paid course from University of Birmingham, in person. It costs £1,875. It leads to an academic award. Next intake not announced.

We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

Suits healthcare, policy and medtech staff who need to judge whether a clinical AI tool is safe and how to govern it locally. What stands out is the choice between a 30-credit microcredential (£1,875 home fee) and a non-credit version (£1,575). The main caveat is that 2026/27 dates are still to be confirmed, it is five days in person in Birmingham, and non-credit places are limited. A free starting point is Introduction to AI in the NHS from HFMA, a ten-minute pilot module.

Properties

Provider
University of Birmingham
Format
Live sessions
Delivery
In person
Duration (as stated by provider)
5 days
Level
Intermediate (our rating)
Cost
£1,875
Certificate
Academic award
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Next intake not announced

Checked against University of Birmingham on 12 Oct 2026

Go to course on birmingham.ac.uk

We're independent. Providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

A five-day in-person course at the University of Birmingham on appraising evidence for AI health technologies, generating local evidence and managing their risks, including cyber security, interoperability and clinical risk. It runs as a 30-credit postgraduate microcredential or a non-credit CPD course. Aimed at recent graduates and mid-career healthcare or medtech staff.

More courses on responsible AI and ethics.

Who it's for

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: in person.

Prerequisites

This course is suitable for recent graduates from healthcare, management, technical or innovation degree programmes. The course is also suitable for mid-career applicants with practical, policy or research roles in healthcare or medtech.

How much does Evaluation and Governance of AI in Healthcare cost?

£1,875. 2026/27 fees: Microcredential (Home) £1,875; Microcredential (International) £5,250; Non-credit £1,575.

Certificate: academic award. Microcredential (30 credits); certificate of completion for the non-credit version.

Where to take it

Taking this course from the UK

University of Birmingham is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 12 Oct 2026.

The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses for healthcare: Using AI in education settings: support materials (Department for Education), BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA) (Cardiff and Vale College), BCS Foundation Award: How AI Can Support Your Organisation (PLA) (Cardiff and Vale College).

See also: free and funded training by nation, AI courses for managers and leaders.

Dates

Next intake not announced.

Questions people ask

How much does this course cost?

£1,875.

Is there a certificate?

Yes: academic award. The provider calls it "Microcredential (30 credits); certificate of completion for the non-credit version".

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: This course is suitable for recent graduates from healthcare, management, technical or innovation degree programmes. The course is also suitable for mid-career applicants with practical, policy or research roles in healthcare or medtech.

When does it start?

Next intake not announced.

Are University of Birmingham AI courses free?

No. Evaluation and Governance of AI in Healthcare costs £1,875.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on responsible AI and ethics

Other responsible AI and ethics courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Secure AI Adoption for SMEs: Cybersecurity and the EU AI ActCyberSuite AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeIntermediate15Free certificate
Ethics of AIElements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)Online, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
Responsible use of ChatGPT at workOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedNo certificate
Responsible AI Innovation for SMEsUniversity of EdinburghOnline, self-pacedFree to learnCertificate paidBeginner4 weeksDuration (as stated by provider)Paid certificate

Free alternative: AI Leadership from OpenAI Academy, free badge.

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other accredited short awards, then by shared topic. At least one is a UK course where one fits. Closed courses are left out.
  • Similar courses: other responsible AI and ethics courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.co.uk.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.