AI Course Check

OpenAI Academy

AI Leadership

AI Leadership is a free course from OpenAI Academy, online. It takes about 3 hours and ends with a free badge. We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

Suits managers who have been asked to lead AI adoption and need a strategy draft. What stands out: you work through a real AI initiative and leave with a draft strategy and roadmap, free, in about three hours. The main caveat is that it comes from a vendor, so expect a ChatGPT lens, and you need a ChatGPT account. A free alternative from another vendor is Gen AI Agents: Transform Your Organization from Google Cloud, the final course in Google's Generative AI Leader path.

Properties

Provider
OpenAI Academy
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration
About 3 h
Level
Intermediate (our rating)
Cost
Free
Certificate
Free badge
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against OpenAI Academy on Oct 5, 2026

Go to course on academy.openai.com

We're independent. Issuers and course providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

Free three-hour OpenAI Academy course for leaders responsible for AI strategy, adoption and change. Learners work through a real AI initiative, connect it to business priorities and draft an initial AI strategy and roadmap. Course badge for 80% or more on the assessment.

  • AI for business and productivity
  • Responsible AI and ethics
  • ChatGPT

Who it's for

  • Managers and leaders

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

ChatGPT account. No other prerequisites stated.

Is AI Leadership free?

Free; requires a ChatGPT account, no workspace membership.

Certificate: free badge. OpenAI Academy course badge (80%+ on assessment).

Where to take it

Related certifications

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does AI Leadership cost?

It's free.

How long does AI Leadership take?

About 3 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for AI Leadership?

Yes: free badge. The provider calls it "OpenAI Academy course badge (80%+ on assessment)".

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: ChatGPT account. No other prerequisites stated.

When does AI Leadership start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on AI for business and productivity

Other AI for business and productivity courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Fluency for Small BusinessesAnthropicOnline, self-pacedFreeIntermediate3.5Free badge
Empower your workforce with Microsoft CopilotMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree badge
Drive AI transformation in your organizationMicrosoft LearnOnlineFreeBeginner1 dayDuration (as stated by provider)Certificate not stated
Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01 - English)AWS Skill BuilderOnline, self-pacedFree to learnSome parts paidBeginner11Certificate not stated

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. Closed courses are left out.
  • Related certifications: OpenAI's own certifications, then AI governance certifications from other issuers, with the price, validity and requirements each issuer states.
  • Similar courses: other AI for business and productivity courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.com.

Follow changes

Follow retirements, price changes and new AI certifications by RSS or JSON Feed. See Changes.

Go to course on academy.openai.com