AI Course Check

King's College London

Artificial Intelligence in Public Policy

Artificial Intelligence in Public Policy is a paid course from King's College London, online. It costs £1,350. It leads to an academic award. Next: 9 Mar 2027.

We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

Suits mid-career policy and public sector professionals who want a grounding in how AI is used and regulated in government, with case studies of failures. What stands out is the academic credit: five Master's level credits from a four-week online module. The main caveat is entry: a 2:1 degree plus three years' relevant experience, or five years without one, and a £1,350 fee. A free alternative is Elements of AI's Ethics of AI.

Good to know
  • Dates may change. Check the provider's page before you book.

Properties

Provider
King's College London
Format
Cohort programme
Delivery
Online
Duration (as stated by provider)
4 weeks
Level
Intermediate (our rating)
Cost
£1,350
Certificate
Academic award
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Next: 9 Mar 2027

Checked against King's College London on 26 Oct 2026

Go to course on kcl.ac.uk

We're independent. Providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

A four-week online module from King's College London's School for Government on how AI is used, governed and misused in public policy. It covers AI in the policy cycle, regulatory frameworks and responsible AI, and sector risks, through self-directed study, three one-hour live webinars and one written assignment. No coding required.

More courses on responsible AI and ethics.

Who it's for

  • Public sector

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: live online.

Prerequisites

Standard entry requirements are a 2:1 degree plus 3 years of relevant work experience. Applicants without a 2:1 or higher degree are welcome to apply and typically require 5+ years of relevant work experience.

How much does Artificial Intelligence in Public Policy cost?

£1,350. Full price £1,350.

Certificate: academic award.

Where to take it

Taking this course from the UK

King's College London is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 26 Oct 2026.

The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses for public sector: Living with AI (Scottish AI Alliance), Using GenAI with Confidence for University & College Professional Services Staff (University of Edinburgh), Ethics of AI (London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)).

See also: free and funded training by nation.

Dates

Next: 9 Mar 2027.

Questions people ask

How much does Artificial Intelligence in Public Policy cost?

£1,350.

Is there a certificate for Artificial Intelligence in Public Policy?

Yes: academic award.

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: Standard entry requirements are a 2:1 degree plus 3 years of relevant work experience. Applicants without a 2:1 or higher degree are welcome to apply and typically require 5+ years of relevant work experience.

When does Artificial Intelligence in Public Policy start?

Next: 9 Mar 2027.

Are King's College London AI courses free?

Some are. Artificial Intelligence in National Security is free or free to learn; the rest are paid.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on responsible AI and ethics

Other responsible AI and ethics courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Secure AI Adoption for SMEs: Cybersecurity and the EU AI ActCyberSuite AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeIntermediate15Free certificate
Evaluation and Governance of AI in HealthcareUniversity of BirminghamIn person£1,875Intermediate5 daysDuration (as stated by provider)Academic award
Ethics of AIElements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)Online, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
Responsible use of ChatGPT at workOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedNo certificate

Free alternative: AI Leadership from OpenAI Academy, free badge.

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other accredited awards, then by shared topic. At least one is a UK course where one fits. Closed courses are left out.
  • Similar courses: other responsible AI and ethics courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.co.uk.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.

Go to course on kcl.ac.uk