AI Course Check

University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education (Oxford Lifelong Learning)

Artificial Intelligence Concepts: An Introduction

Artificial Intelligence Concepts: An Introduction is a paid course from University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education, online. It costs £430.

It takes about 100 hours and leads to an academic award. Next: 18 Jan 2027. We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

Suits people with no AI background who want a structured, university-level grounding in how AI works and its ethical questions, without coding. What stands out is the academic framing: FHEQ level 4, CATS points and a pass or fail assignment. The main caveat is the workload, about 100 study hours over ten weeks, at £430 (50% off for some UK benefit recipients and care leavers). City Lit's Introduction to artificial intelligence, at £149, is a shorter, lower-cost alternative.

Good to know
  • Dates may change. Check the provider's page before you book.

Properties

Provider
University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education (Oxford Lifelong Learning)
Format
Cohort programme
Delivery
Online
Duration
About 100 h
Level
Beginner (our rating)
Cost
£430
Certificate
Academic award
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Next: 18 Jan 2027

Checked against University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education (Oxford Lifelong Learning) on 26 Oct 2026

Go to course on lifelong-learning.ox.ac.uk

We're independent. Providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

A ten-week online course from Oxford Lifelong Learning introducing AI for a general audience. Ten units cover what intelligence is, AI and society, search, expert systems, connectionist models, machine learning and testing AI systems. No coding. Assessed by a 1,500-word assignment, offered at FHEQ level 4 with CATS points.

More courses on machine learning and on responsible AI and ethics.

Who it's for

  • Everyone (no background needed)
  • Students and career changers

Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: live online.

Prerequisites

This course is open to all, and no prior knowledge is required.

How much does Artificial Intelligence Concepts: An Introduction cost?

£430. Course fee £430; 50% reduction for UK state benefit recipients and UK care leavers.

Certificate: academic award. University of Oxford digital Certificate of Completion (on passing the final assignment); CATS points.

Where to take it

Taking this course from the UK

University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education (Oxford Lifelong Learning) is a UK provider. We checked this course on its own page on 26 Oct 2026.

The price is shown in pounds, as the provider states it.

If you want a free, government-backed start instead, AI Skills Boost gives every adult in the UK free AI courses, and finishing selected ones earns an AI foundations badge.

None of the UK funding schemes we track pays for this course. See free and funded training by nation for what is funded where you live.

Other UK courses on AI literacy and fundamentals: Living with AI (Scottish AI Alliance), Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) - Online (Forth Valley College), BCS Foundation Award: Award in Understanding the Role of Ethics in the Responsible Use of AI (PLA) (Cardiff and Vale College).

See also: free and funded training by nation.

Dates

Next: 18 Jan 2027.

Questions people ask

How much does this course cost?

£430.

How long does this course take?

About 100 hours, a cohort programme.

Is there a certificate?

Yes: academic award. The provider calls it "University of Oxford digital Certificate of Completion (on passing the final assignment); CATS points".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: This course is open to all, and no prior knowledge is required.

When does it start?

Next: 18 Jan 2027.

Are University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education AI courses free?

No, they are all paid. The lowest-priced one we list is Artificial Intelligence Concepts: An Introduction: £430.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on AI literacy and fundamentals

Other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI FoundationsOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1Free badge
AI Capabilities and LimitationsAnthropicOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner3.5Free badge
AI concepts for developers and technology professionalsMicrosoft LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner4Certificate not stated
AI Fluency: Framework & FoundationsAnthropicOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner4Free badge

Free alternative: Introduction to Generative AI from Google, free badge.

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other accredited awards, then by shared topic. At least one is a UK course where one fits. Closed courses are left out.
  • Similar courses: other AI literacy and fundamentals courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.co.uk.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.

Go to course on lifelong-learning.ox.ac.uk