Microsoft Copilot certifications: which exam to take
The Microsoft Copilot certification to take depends on your job: AB-730 to use Copilot, AB-900 to run it, AB-620 to build Copilot Studio agents, or GH-300 for GitHub Copilot.
- AB-730 price
- $99
- AB-620 price
- $165
Which Copilot certifications can you take?
Each exam below names Microsoft 365 Copilot, Copilot Studio or GitHub Copilot in what it tests. Facts are as Microsoft and GitHub state them.
Lowest stated price in this group: $99 (Microsoft 365 Certified: Copilot and Agent Administration Fundamentals (AB-900), Microsoft Certified: AI Business Professional (AB-730), GitHub Copilot (GH-300) and Microsoft Certified: AI Transformation Leader (AB-731)) (computed from the standard or non-member US prices below).
Every live certification we track in this group, with each fact as its issuer states it. Cost to certify is computed by us: the one-off exam fee plus the issuer's own prep courses, only when each price is stated (how it is worked out). Never converted.
| Certification | Issuer | Level | Type | Price as shown | Cost to certify (computed) | Valid for | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft 365 Certified: Copilot and Agent Administration Fundamentals (AB-900) | Microsoft | Foundational | ExamProctored | $99 | $99 (computed) | Does not expire | Active |
| Microsoft Certified: AI Agent Builder Associate (AB-620) | Microsoft | Associate | ExamProctored | $165 | $165 (computed) | 1 year | Active |
| Microsoft Certified: AI Business Professional (AB-730) | Microsoft | Not stated | ExamProctored | $99 | $99 (computed) | Not stated by Microsoft | Active |
| GitHub Copilot (GH-300) | GitHub | Not stated | ExamProctored | $99 | Not computed: no issuer prep course listed | 2 years | Active |
| Microsoft Certified: AI Transformation Leader (AB-731) | Microsoft | Not stated | ExamProctored | $99 | $99 (computed) | Not stated by Microsoft | Active |
Which Copilot certification fits your job?
- You use Copilot in Microsoft 365 apps: Microsoft Certified: AI Business Professional (AB-730), $99 for a 45 minutes exam. Microsoft expects you to be comfortable using Microsoft 365 core apps such as Outlook, Word, Teams, PowerPoint and Excel.
- You lead AI adoption in a business: Microsoft Certified: AI Transformation Leader (AB-731), $99. It expects experience leading adoption or change management.
- You run Microsoft 365 and its Copilot and agents: Microsoft 365 Certified: Copilot and Agent Administration Fundamentals (AB-900), $99 for a 45 minutes exam.
- You build agents in Copilot Studio: Microsoft Certified: AI Agent Builder Associate (AB-620), $165 for a 120 minutes exam, valid for 1 year.
- You write code with GitHub Copilot: GitHub Copilot (GH-300), $99, valid for 2 years.
The catch: Microsoft's pages don't state how long AB-730, AB-731 or AB-900 stay valid, so only AB-620 and GH-300 show a validity period below.
How do you prepare?
| Course | Cost | Length | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Build foundational generative AI skillsMicrosoft | Free | Not stated by provider | Free badge |
| Design and build integrated AI agent solutions in Copilot StudioMicrosoft | Free | 3 days | Certificate not stated |
| Transform business workflows with generative AIMicrosoft | Free | 1 day | Certificate not stated |
| Drive AI transformation in your organizationMicrosoft | Free | 1 day | Certificate not stated |
| Introduction to Microsoft 365 and AI administrationMicrosoft | Free | 1 day | Certificate not stated |
| GitHub CopilotMicrosoft | Free | 1 day | Certificate not stated |
Questions people ask
Is there a Microsoft Copilot certification?
Yes, several. Microsoft Certified: AI Business Professional (AB-730) covers using Copilot at work, Microsoft 365 Certified: Copilot and Agent Administration Fundamentals (AB-900) covers running it, and Microsoft Certified: AI Agent Builder Associate (AB-620) covers building agents in Copilot Studio.
Is GH-300 a Microsoft certification?
No. GitHub Copilot (GH-300) is GitHub's own certification for GitHub Copilot, so it sits apart from Microsoft's AB exams.
What has changed?
Microsoft Certified: AI Business Professional (AB-730)
· Update
Microsoft reworded the recommended Microsoft 365 experience for the AI Business Professional exam (AB-730).
Quoted above. Microsoft
Sources
- Microsoft: Microsoft 365 Certified: Copilot and Agent Administration Fundamentals (AB-900), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AB-900 exam, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: Microsoft Copilot certifications, learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AB-900 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: Microsoft Certified: AI Agent Builder Associate (AB-620), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AB-620 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: Microsoft Certified: AI Business Professional (AB-730), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, practice assessments for microsoft certifications, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AB-730 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, ab 730t00, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- GitHub: GitHub Copilot (GH-300), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- GitHub: learn.microsoft.com, GH-300 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: Microsoft Certified: AI Transformation Leader (AB-731), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AB-731 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026