AI Course Check

OpenAI

OpenAI Academy: which course to take first, and what you get

OpenAI Academy is OpenAI's free course site. Start with AI Foundations: it's free, with a badge if you score 80% or more on its assessment. Badges aren't proctored certifications.

Courses listed
7
Free to take
7
Certifications
1

Which OpenAI Academy course should you take first?

Does OpenAI Academy give a certificate?

Some courses give a badge, earned with 80% or more on the final assessment. A badge shows you finished a short course; it isn't a proctored certification. ChatGPT fundamentals and Responsible use of ChatGPT at work give no badge at all.

Where should you start with OpenAI?

The course this guide says to start with.

More OpenAI AI courses

Recommended order: open now, wide audience, beginner level and lower cost first; closed courses last. The course shown above is not repeated here unless you filter or search. How we order courses.

6 courses

Filter and sort

Level
Topic

Which OpenAI certifications can you earn?

Each OpenAI certification's price, validity and who can take it, from OpenAI's pages, checked against them on October 25, 2026.
CertificationTypePrice as shownValid forWho can take itStatus
AI FoundationsCourse certificateNot stated by OpenAINot stated by OpenAIBy invitation onlyPilot

Questions people ask

Is OpenAI Academy free?

Yes. Every OpenAI Academy course listed here is free to take, including the badge where there is one.

Sources

  1. OpenAI: help.openai.com, 20001151 openai certified app, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  2. OpenAI: openai.com, openai certificate courses, accessed Oct 26, 2026