AI Course Check

Project Management Institute (PMI)

Practical Application of Generative AI for Project Managers

Practical Application of Generative AI for Project Managers is a free course from PMI, online. It takes about 5 hours and ends with a free CPD certificate.

Go to course on pmi.org

We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

Suits project managers who already use AI tools and want to apply them across eight project areas, from stakeholders to uncertainty. It stands out on value: free with a PMI account, hands-on, and it earns 5 PDUs. The main caveat is that PMI doesn't state prerequisites, and it is pitched at intermediate level. A structured alternative is Generative AI for Project Managers Specialization from IBM on Coursera, listed as 4 weeks at 10 hours a week, though it can't be taken for free.

Properties

Provider
Project Management Institute (PMI)
Format
Self-paced
Delivery
Online
Duration
About 5 h
Level
Intermediate (our rating)
Cost
Free
Certificate
Free CPD certificate
Language
English
Funding
None
Next start
Start any time

Checked against Project Management Institute (PMI) on Oct 4, 2026

Go to course on pmi.org

We're independent. Issuers and course providers can't pay to be listed or ranked.

What you'll learn

Five hours of hands-on PMI e-learning on combining AI tools, prompting techniques and workflow automation across eight project areas: stakeholders, team, development approach, planning, project work, delivery, measurement and uncertainty. Earns 5 PDUs.

  • Generative AI
  • Prompt engineering
  • AI for business and productivity

Who it's for

  • Project managers

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

Not stated by provider.

Is Practical Application of Generative AI for Project Managers free?

Free; PMI account needed.

Certificate: free CPD certificate. 5 PDUs (PMI professional development units).

Where to take it

  • Free on pmi.org, checked Oct 4, 2026.

Related certifications

How we chose these

Questions people ask

How much does this course cost?

It's free.

How long does this course take?

About 5 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate?

Yes: free CPD certificate. The provider calls it "5 PDUs (PMI professional development units)".

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). The provider does not list prerequisites.

When does it start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

How we chose these

Similar courses on generative AI

Other generative AI courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
Develop AI apps and agents on AzureMicrosoft LearnOnlineFreeIntermediate4 daysDuration (as stated by provider)Certificate not stated
GitHub CopilotMicrosoft LearnOnlineFreeIntermediate1 dayDuration (as stated by provider)Certificate not stated
Generative AI for Human Resources (HR) Professionals SpecializationIBM on CourseraOnline, self-pacedPaid. Price on the provider's pageIntermediate4 weeks to complete at 10 hours a weekDuration (as stated by provider)Professional certificate
Generative AI for Finance and Accounting SpecializationEdureka on CourseraOnline, self-pacedPaid. Price on the provider's pageIntermediate8 weeks to complete at 5 hours a weekDuration (as stated by provider)Professional certificate

How we chose

  • Alternatives: Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. Closed courses are left out.
  • Related certifications: Project Management Institute's own certifications, with the price, validity and requirements each issuer states.
  • Similar courses: other generative AI courses, same level first.
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@aicoursecheck.com.

Follow changes

Follow retirements, price changes and new AI certifications by RSS or JSON Feed. See Changes.

Go to course on pmi.org