AI engineer certifications: which exam to take
The AI engineer certification to take depends on your stack: AI-103 for Azure, AWS's Generative AI Developer Professional, Databricks' Generative AI Engineer Associate or NVIDIA's LLM associate exam.
- AI-103 price
- $165
- NVIDIA LLM exam price
- $125
Which AI engineer certifications can you take?
Each certification below is for people who build AI applications in code, from the issuer's own description. Facts are as each issuer states them.
Lowest stated price in this group: $99 (LangChain Certified Agent Engineer) (computed from the standard or non-member US prices below).
Every live certification we track in this group, with each fact as its issuer states it. Cost to certify is computed by us: the one-off exam fee plus the issuer's own prep courses, only when each price is stated (how it is worked out). Never converted.
| Certification | Issuer | Level | Type | Price as shown | Cost to certify (computed) | Valid for | Who can take it | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Databricks Certified Generative AI Engineer Associate | Databricks | Associate | ExamProctored | $200 | Not computed: no issuer prep course listed | 2 years | No requirement listed | Active |
| Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer Associate (AI-103) | Microsoft | Associate | ExamProctored | $165 | $165 (computed) | 1 year | No requirement listed | Active |
| NVIDIA-Certified Associate Generative AI LLM (NCA-GENL) | NVIDIA | Associate | Exam | $125 | Not computed: no issuer prep course listed | 2 years | No requirement listed | Active |
| AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional | Amazon Web Services | Professional | ExamOnline proctoring offered | $300; AUD 449 | Not computed: a prep price is not stated as a one-off price | 3 years | No requirement listed | Active |
| IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate | IBM | Not stated | Course certificate | Not stated by IBM | Not computed: no one-off exam fee stated | Not stated by IBM | No requirement listed | Active |
| LangChain Certified Agent Engineer | LangChain | Not stated | ExamProctored online | $99 | $99 (computed) | 2 years | No requirement listed | Active |
| Claude Certified Developer - Foundations (CCDV-F) | Anthropic | Foundational | ExamProctored online or at a test center | Not stated by Anthropic | Not computed: no one-off exam fee stated | Not stated by Anthropic | Partners only | Active |
Which AI engineer certification fits your stack?
- You build on Azure in Python: Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer Associate (AI-103), $165 for a 120 minutes exam. Microsoft expects experience developing apps in Python.
- You ship generative AI on AWS: AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional, $300; AUD 449 for 75 questions in 180 minutes. AWS expects 2 or more years of experience building production grade applications.
- You build on Databricks: Databricks Certified Generative AI Engineer Associate, $200 for 45 questions in 90 minutes, valid for 2 years.
- You work with LLMs on any platform: NVIDIA-Certified Associate Generative AI LLM (NCA-GENL), $125 for 50 to 60 questions in 60 minutes, or LangChain Certified Agent Engineer for agents built with LangChain, $99.
- You want a course rather than an exam: IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate is a professional certificate earned by finishing a course series.
The catch: Claude Certified Developer - Foundations (CCDV-F) is open only to organizations in the Claude Partner Network, so you can only take it through a member firm.
How do you prepare?
| Course | Cost | Length | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional (AIP-C01 - English)Amazon Web Services | Free to learn. Some parts paid | 19 hours | Certificate not stated |
| AWS Generative AI Developer Advanced Learning Plan (includes Labs)Amazon Web Services | Price not stated by provider | 45.3 hours | Certificate not stated |
| IBM AI Engineering Professional CertificateIBM | Paid subscription. Price on the provider's page | 4 months at 10 hours a week | Professional certificate |
| Building Reliable Agents with LangSmithLangChain | Free | Not stated by provider | Certificate not stated |
| Introduction to Deep AgentsLangChain | Free | Not stated by provider | Certificate not stated |
| Introduction to LangChain - PythonLangChain | Free | Not stated by provider | Certificate not stated |
| Introduction to LangSmith DeploymentLangChain | Free | Not stated by provider | Certificate not stated |
| Monitoring Production AgentsLangChain | Free | Not stated by provider | Certificate not stated |
| Develop AI apps and agents on AzureMicrosoft | Free | 4 days | Certificate not stated |
Questions people ask
Which AI engineer certification suits Python developers?
Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer Associate (AI-103): Microsoft expects experience developing apps by using Python. LangChain Certified Agent Engineer also suits Python developers who build agents.
Is an AI engineer certificate the same as a certification?
No. IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate is a certificate for finishing courses. The exams on this page are set and marked by the issuer.
What has changed?
Claude Certified Developer - Foundations (CCDV-F)
· Update
Anthropic updates the Claude Certified Developer exam content on 7 December 2026, with an updated exam guide from 17 November 2026.
"Developer – Foundations, and Architect – Professional exams will include updated content starting on this date. Updated exam guides will be available on November 17, 2026." Anthropic
AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional
· Status
The beta version of the Generative AI Developer Professional exam ended on March 31, 2026, and the standard version replaced it.
"The last day to take the beta version of the exam is March 31, 2026." Amazon Web Services
Sources
- Databricks: Databricks Certified Generative AI Engineer Associate, databricks.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer Associate (AI-103), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, practice assessments for microsoft certifications, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AI-103 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, ai 103t00, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- NVIDIA: NVIDIA-Certified Associate Generative AI LLM (NCA-GENL), nvidia.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- NVIDIA: nvidia.com, generative ai llm associate, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Amazon Web Services: AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional, aws.amazon.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Amazon Web Services: aws.amazon.com, certified generative ai developer professional, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Amazon Web Services: aws.amazon.com, before testing, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Amazon Web Services: docs.aws.amazon.com, ai professional, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Amazon Web Services: aws.amazon.com, faqs, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Amazon Web Services: aws.amazon.com, recertification, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- IBM: IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate, coursera.org, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- LangChain: LangChain Certified Agent Engineer, academy.langchain.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- LangChain: academy.langchain.com, certifications lcae, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- LangChain: pub-dffa5f25c09c49488e245c43fcd4d0b5.r2.dev, exam guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Anthropic: Claude Certified Developer - Foundations (CCDV-F), claude.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
- Anthropic: pearsonvue.com, anthropic, accessed Oct 26, 2026