AI Course Check

Amazon Web Services

AWS Certification: which AI certification to take

Start with AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01), the foundational step, at $100; AUD 150. Stated US prices run from $50 to $300.

Which AWS Certification are there?

From Amazon Web Services' pages, checked against them on Oct 24, 2026. Order: live and active first, then those with no stated entry rule, then entry level first. Who can take them: no requirement listed, for every one.
CertificationLevelTypePrice as shownValid forStatus
AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01)FoundationalExamOnline proctoring offered$100; AUD 1503 yearsActive
AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - ProfessionalProfessionalExamOnline proctoring offered$300; AUD 4493 yearsActive
AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C01)AssociateExamOnline proctoring offered$150; $75 (beta); AUD 2243 yearsRetiringRetires January 14, 2027
AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01)Not statedExamProctored$50 (beta); $1003 yearsBeta
AWS Certified Machine Learning - SpecialtySpecialtyExamOnline proctoring offered$3003 yearsRetiredMarch 31, 2026

In what order do AWS Certification AI certifications go?

By the level Amazon Web Services states for each one, lowest first.

  1. Foundational: AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01)
  2. Associate: AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C01)
  3. Professional: AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional

How do you prepare?

Courses that prepare for this certification, as each provider describes them.
CourseCostLengthWhat you get
AWS AI Business Strategist Learning PlanAmazon Web ServicesPrice not stated by provider14.5 hoursCertificate not stated
AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning PlanAmazon Web ServicesFree to learn. Exam USD 1008 hoursPaid exam certification
Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01 - English)Amazon Web ServicesFree to learn. Some parts paid11.3 hoursCertificate not stated
Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01 - English)Amazon Web ServicesFree to learn. Some parts paid22.8 hoursCertificate not stated
Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional (AIP-C01 - English)Amazon Web ServicesFree to learn. Some parts paid19 hoursCertificate not stated
Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C02 - English)Amazon Web ServicesFree to learn. Some parts paid16 hoursCertificate not stated
AWS Generative AI Developer Advanced Learning Plan (includes Labs)Amazon Web ServicesPrice not stated by provider45.3 hoursCertificate not stated
AWS ML Engineer Associate Learning Plan (includes labs)Amazon Web ServicesPrice not stated by provider25.4 hoursCertificate not stated

What has changed?

AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01)

· Languages

AWS retires the Italian and German versions of the AI Practitioner exam after October 15, 2026.

"The AWS Certified AI Practitioner exam in Italian and German will be retired after October 15, 2026." Amazon Web Services

AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01)

· Launched

Beta delivery of the AI Business Strategist exam began on September 29, 2026, after registration opened on September 1.

"Beta exam registration opens September 1, 2026, with exam delivery beginning September 29." Amazon Web Services

AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C01)

· Update

Delivery of the MLA-C02 beta exam began on September 29, 2026.

"September 29, 2026: Beta delivery begins" Amazon Web Services

AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C01)

· Languages

The last day to take MLA-C01 in English was September 28, 2026.

"September 28, 2026: Last day to take MLA-C01 in English" Amazon Web Services

AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C01)

· Update

AWS opened beta registration for the updated MLA-C02 exam in English on September 1, 2026.

"September 1, 2026: Beta registration open (English only)" Amazon Web Services

AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional

· Status

The beta version of the Generative AI Developer Professional exam ended on March 31, 2026, and the standard version replaced it.

"The last day to take the beta version of the exam is March 31, 2026." Amazon Web Services

AWS Certified Machine Learning - Specialty

· Retired

AWS retired the Machine Learning Specialty exam; the last day to take it was March 31, 2026.

"The last day to take this exam is March 31, 2026." Amazon Web Services

Sources

  1. Amazon Web Services: AWS Certification, aws.amazon.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  2. Amazon Web Services: AWS Certification, aws.amazon.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  3. Amazon Web Services: docs.aws.amazon.com, ai practitioner, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  4. Amazon Web Services: AWS Certification, aws.amazon.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  5. Amazon Web Services: aws.amazon.com, certified generative ai developer professional, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  6. Amazon Web Services: docs.aws.amazon.com, ai professional, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  7. Amazon Web Services: AWS Certification, aws.amazon.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  8. Amazon Web Services: AWS Certification, aws.amazon.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  9. Amazon Web Services: AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C01), aws.amazon.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  10. Amazon Web Services: aws.amazon.com, certified machine learning engineer associate, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  11. Amazon Web Services: AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01), aws.amazon.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  12. Amazon Web Services: docs.aws.amazon.com, ai business strategist, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  13. Amazon Web Services: aws.amazon.com, certified ai business strategist, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  14. Amazon Web Services: aws.amazon.com, certified machine learning specialty, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  15. Amazon Web Services: docs.aws.amazon.com, machine learning specialty, accessed Oct 26, 2026