AI Course Check

AI certifications for beginners: which to take first

The AI certification for beginners depends on whether you code: Google Cloud's Generative AI Leader if you don't, or AI-901 or AWS AI Practitioner if you build on Azure or AWS.

Generative AI Leader price
$99 plus tax
AI-901 price
$99 plus tax

Which AI certifications count as entry level?

Each certification below either has a foundational level as its issuer states it, or its issuer says it needs no experience or prerequisite. Exams open only to partner firms are left out. Facts are as each issuer states them.

Lowest stated price in this group: free (Oracle Agentic AI Foundations Associate (1Z0-1157-26)) (computed from the standard or non-member US prices below).

Every live certification we track in this group, with each fact as its issuer states it. Cost to certify is computed by us: the one-off exam fee plus the issuer's own prep courses, only when each price is stated (how it is worked out). Never converted.

From the issuers' pages, checked against them on Oct 20, 2026. Order: live and active first, then those with no stated entry rule, then entry level first.
CertificationIssuerLevelTypePrice as shownCost to certify (computed)Valid forWho can take itStatus
Oracle Agentic AI Foundations Associate (1Z0-1157-26)OracleFoundationalExamFreeNot computed: no issuer prep course listedNot stated by OracleNo requirement listedActive
AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01)Amazon Web ServicesFoundationalExamOnline proctoring offered$100; AUD 150Not computed: a prep price is not stated as a one-off price3 yearsNo requirement listedActive
Microsoft 365 Certified: Copilot and Agent Administration Fundamentals (AB-900)MicrosoftFoundationalExamProctored$99$99 (computed)Does not expireNo requirement listedActive
Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901)MicrosoftFoundationalExam$99 plus tax$99 plus tax (computed)Does not expireNo requirement listedActive
Google AI EssentialsGoogleNot statedCourse certificate$49 per monthNot computed: no one-off exam fee statedNot stated by GoogleOpen to anyoneActive
Generative AI LeaderGoogle CloudNot statedExamProctored online or at a test center$99 plus taxNot computed: no one-off exam fee stated3 yearsOpen to anyoneActive
Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals CertificateISACANot statedExamProctored online$144 (non member); $120 (member)Not computed: no issuer prep course listedNot stated by ISACAOpen to anyoneActive

Which beginner AI certification should you take?

The catch: "entry level" doesn't mean no study. AWS expects up to 6 months of exposure to AI/ML technologies on AWS, and AI-901 and Oracle's exam expect some coding.

How do you prepare?

Courses that prepare for this certification, as each provider describes them.
CourseCostLengthWhat you get
AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning PlanAmazon Web ServicesFree to learn. Exam USD 1008 hoursPaid exam certification
Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01 - English)Amazon Web ServicesFree to learn. Some parts paid22.8 hoursCertificate not stated
Google AI EssentialsGoogle$49 per month4 hoursProfessional certificate
Gen AI Agents: Transform Your OrganizationGoogleFree2.3 hoursFree badge
Introduction to Microsoft 365 and AI administrationMicrosoftFree1 dayCertificate not stated
AI concepts for developers and technology professionalsMicrosoftFree3.9 hoursCertificate not stated
Get started with AI applications and agents on AzureMicrosoftFree5.6 hoursCertificate not stated
Introduction to AI in Azure (AI-901T00)MicrosoftFreeNot stated by providerNo certificate

Questions people ask

What is the easiest AI certification?

None is officially rated easiest. Generative AI Leader is the one here aimed at people with or without hands-on technical experience, and Google AI Essentials has no exam.

AI-901 or AWS AI Practitioner first?

Pick the cloud you use. Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901) costs $99 plus tax and AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01) costs $100; AUD 150.

What has changed?

AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01)

· Languages

AWS retires the Italian and German versions of the AI Practitioner exam after October 15, 2026.

"The AWS Certified AI Practitioner exam in Italian and German will be retired after October 15, 2026." Amazon Web Services

Sources

  1. Oracle: Oracle Agentic AI Foundations Associate (1Z0-1157-26), learn.oracle.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  2. Amazon Web Services: AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01), aws.amazon.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  3. Amazon Web Services: aws.amazon.com, before testing, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  4. Amazon Web Services: docs.aws.amazon.com, ai practitioner, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  5. Microsoft: Microsoft 365 Certified: Copilot and Agent Administration Fundamentals (AB-900), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  6. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AB-900 exam, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  7. Microsoft: AI certifications for beginners, learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  8. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AB-900 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  9. Microsoft: Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901), learn.microsoft.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  10. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AI-901 exam, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  11. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, AI-901 study guide, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  12. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, ai 901t00, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  13. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, ai concepts, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  14. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, get started ai apps agents, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  15. Microsoft: learn.microsoft.com, exam duration exam experience, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  16. Google: Google AI Essentials, coursera.org, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  17. Google Cloud: Generative AI Leader, cloud.google.com, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  18. Google Cloud: services.google.com, generative ai leader exam guide english, accessed Oct 26, 2026
  19. ISACA: Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals Certificate, isaca.org, accessed Oct 20, 2026