Amazon Web Services AI courses: which to take (2026)
Start with Generative AI for Executives, first in our order for Amazon Web Services: free, beginner level. 2 of the 10 Amazon Web Services courses listed here are free.
- Courses listed
- 10 courses
- Free
- 2
- Certificate or exam
- 1 vendor exam
All Amazon Web Services courses we list
| Course | Delivery | Cost | Level | For | Hours | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Generative AI for ExecutivesAWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Managers and leaders, Business professionals | Under 1 | Certificate not stated |
| Introduction to Generative AI - Art of the PossibleAWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Free | Beginner | Everyone, Business professionals | 1 | Certificate not stated |
| AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning PlanAWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Free to learnExam USD 100 | Beginner | Developers and engineers, Business professionals | 8 | Paid exam certification |
| Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01 - English)AWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Free to learnSome parts paid | Beginner | Business professionals, Managers and leaders | 11 | Certificate not stated |
| Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01 - English)AWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Free to learnSome parts paid | Beginner | Developers and engineers, Business professionals | 23 | Certificate not stated |
| AWS AI Business Strategist Learning PlanAWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Price not stated by provider | Beginner | Business professionals, Managers and leaders | 15 | Certificate not stated |
| Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C02 - English)AWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Free to learnSome parts paid | Intermediate | Developers and engineers, Data scientists and analysts | 16 | Certificate not stated |
| Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional (AIP-C01 - English)AWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Free to learnSome parts paid | Advanced | Developers and engineers | 19 | Certificate not stated |
| AWS ML Engineer Associate Learning Plan (includes labs)AWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Price not stated by provider | Advanced | Developers and engineers, Data scientists and analysts | 25 | Certificate not stated |
| AWS Generative AI Developer Advanced Learning Plan (includes Labs)AWS Skill Builder | Online, self-paced | Price not stated by provider | Advanced | Developers and engineers | 45 | Certificate not stated |
In what order should I take Amazon Web Services courses?
Grouped by each course's stated level and whether it ends in an exam or professional certificate, in the table's order within each step. This is our grouping of the provider's stated levels, not a path the provider sets.
- Start here: beginner courses. Generative AI for Executives; Introduction to Generative AI - Art of the Possible; Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01 - English); Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01 - English); and 1 more in the table.
- Then: intermediate and advanced courses. Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C02 - English); Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional (AIP-C01 - English); AWS ML Engineer Associate Learning Plan (includes labs); AWS Generative AI Developer Advanced Learning Plan (includes Labs).
- To finish: exam or professional certificate. AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning Plan.
Which Amazon Web Services certifications can you earn?
| Certification | Type | Price as shown | Valid for | Who can take it | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Agentic AI Demonstrated | Microcredential | Not stated by Amazon Web Services | 1 year | Check the issuer's page | Active |
| AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01) | ExamProctored | $50 (beta); $100 | 3 years | No requirement listed | Beta |
| AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01) | ExamOnline proctoring offered | $100; AUD 150 | 3 years | No requirement listed | Active |
| AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional | ExamOnline proctoring offered | $300; AUD 449 | 3 years | No requirement listed | Active |
| AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C01) | ExamOnline proctoring offered | $150; $75 (beta); AUD 224 | 3 years | No requirement listed | RetiringRetires January 14, 2027 |
| AWS Certified Machine Learning - Specialty | ExamOnline proctoring offered | $300 | 3 years | No requirement listed | RetiredMarch 31, 2026 |
| AWS Databases for Agentic AI Demonstrated | Microcredential | Free | 1 year | Check the issuer's page | Active |
| AWS Securing Agent Identities Demonstrated | Microcredential | Free | 1 year | Check the issuer's page | Active |
Which Amazon Web Services AI courses are free?
Most Amazon Web Services courses we list are free or free to learn: the 7 below. "Free to learn" means the course is free but the certificate or full access costs extra.
- Generative AI for Executives: Free.
- Introduction to Generative AI - Art of the Possible: Free.
- AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning Plan: Free to learn, paid certificate.
- Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01 - English): Free to learn.
- Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01 - English): Free to learn.
- Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C02 - English): Free to learn.
- Exam Prep Plan: AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional (AIP-C01 - English): Free to learn.
How much does the AWS Certified AI Practitioner certification cost?
AWS shows the AWS Certified AI Practitioner exam (AIF-C01) fee as USD 100, and the learning plan that prepares you for it is free.
| Course | Cost | Certificate | Level |
|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning PlanAWS Skill Builder | Free to learnExam USD 100 | Paid exam certification | Beginner |
Other providers
Coursera, DeepLearning.AI, IBM, MIT Professional Education, or all providers. For certifications across providers, see our AI certifications guide.
Follow changes
Follow retirements, price changes and new AI certifications by RSS or JSON Feed. See Changes.